Asian Games 2018 Cycling

Last Modified Aug 28, 2018 10:21 IST

Cycling has been held at the Asian Games since the inception of the quadrennial tournament in the 1951 New Delhi Games. However, the sports missed the second edition of the multi-sporting event held in 1954.

While Road and Track Cycling competition has been part of the Asian Games from the beginning, Cycling BMX and Mountain Bike were incorporated into the tournament later. Mountain Bike Cycling and Cycling BMX competition was included at the 1998 Bangkok Games and 2010 Guangzhou Games respectively.

Venues and Schedule

The Cycling competition will be held from August 19 to August 31 at several venues. The Mountain Bike competition will take place at Subang, Bandung, Jawa Barat while the Road Cycling will be organised on the road around Subang and Jawa Barat.

The BMX event will be held at the Jakarta International BMX Track and the track competition will take place at the International BMX Track, Jakarta.

Asian Games 2018 Cycling Event

The tournament will witness total 22 events of Cycling including eleven men’s and eleven women’s events.

The Mountain Bike competition will include two events- 'Individual Downhill' and "Cross Country Olympic". The Road competition will feature two events- "Individual Time Trial" and "Individual Road Race".

There will be five events in the track competition including 'team Pursuit', "Team Sprint", "Individual Pursuit", "Sprint", "Keirin", "Omnium". Also, there will be BMX Cross event in both men’s and women’s category.

Asian Games Cycling Teams

In both BMX Cross women and men, each participating is allowed to play a maximum of two athletes.

In all Mountain Bike event, a country can enter a maximum of two athletes while in men's and women's Individual TT events of Road each nation is entitled to a maximum of one athlete. In both men's and women's Individual RR, it allows a maximum of two athletes per nation.

Among the track competition, each nation can enter a maximum of one athlete in the men's and women's Individual Pursuit along with Omnium Men and Women.

Each nation can play a maximum of two athletes in the Sprint Women, Sprint Men, Keirin Women and Keirin Men competition.

In the team events of Pursuit women and men, each nation can enter a maximum of six athletes while the limit is three and four in the Sprint women and men competition respectively. In total, each nation can enter a maximum of 27 men and 24 women athletes in Cycling.

2014 Asian Games Cycling Results

In the Asian Games 2014 events, Daniel Caluag and Amanda Mildred Carr won the men's and women's BMX event respectively.

In the Mountain Bike event, Wang Zhen and Shi Qinglan of China completed a golden double winning both men's and women's Cross-Country competition.

In the Road Race, South Korea's Jang Kyung-gu won the gold in the men's category while Thailand's Jutatip Maneephan captured the gold in the women's category.

Alexey Lutsenko took the Gold in the Men's individual time trial and Na Ah-reum won the gold medal in the women's category.

Seiichiro Nakagawa, Mohammad Daneshvar and Eiya Hashimoto won the gold medal in the men's Sprint, Men's Keirin and men's omnium respectively.

Lee Wai Sze of Hong-Kong made a golden double winning both women's Sprint and Keirin competition. Hsiao Mei-yu took the gold in the women's Omnium.

China won both the men's and women's Team Pursuit event along with capturing another gold medal in the women's Team Sprint event. In the men's Team Sprint, South Korea bagged the gold medal.

App download animated image Get the free App now