Favorites Edit

2015 Dakshin Dare Rally: Sandeep, Arvind remain on top at the end of the third day

468   //    06 Aug 2015, 10:30 IST
Dakshin Dare Rally Motorsports 2015
The rally will conclude in Hyderabad on August 7

Hampi (Karnataka), Aug 5 Overnight leaders Sandeep Sharma (co-driver Karan Arya) of Team Maruti and TVS' Arvind K.P. remained on top in the four-wheelers (Ultimate Car) and the two-wheelers (Ultimate Bike) categories respectively after the third day of the seventh Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Rally here on Wednesday.

Defending champion Sandeep, driving a Gypsy, completed the day's competition in 38.34 minutes, taking his overall time to three hours, three minutes and 40 seconds in the off-road motorsport event.

On Wednesday, the stages were held near Tungabhadra canal in Bellary district. Samrat Yadav (co-driver Gaurav) of PVT team came second as the Gypsy driver finished five minutes and eight seconds slower than Sandeep.

Overnight third placed finisher Suresh Rana of (co-driver Parminder Thakur) Team Maruti was third with an overall timing of three hours and 11 minutes.

In the two-wheelers competition, Arvind, riding on a TVS 450cc, took his overall time tally to two hours, 52 minutes and 41 seconds. R. Nataraj, who has an overall time of two hours, 56 minutes and 54 seconds on a TVS 450cc bike, was second.

PVT's Abdul Wahid, with an overall time of three hours, six minutes and seven seconds, finished third.

In the Endurance Car category, run on Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) format, Monday's leader Dilip Jain (co-driver Chandra Shekhar) topped the chart after incurring a total penalty of two minutes and 40 seconds.

Asgar Ali (co-driver Mustafa) was second with a total penalty of two minutes and 48 seconds. Ganesh Moorthy (co-driver Nagarajan) of Team Maruti was third with an overall penalty of two minutes and 52 seconds.

Overnight leader Subhir Roy (co-driver Nirav Mehta) from Team Maruti dropped to the ninth position due to the increase in penalties.

On Thursday, the participants will pass through Jindal plant in the area of Siruguppa. The rally was flagged off in Bengaluru on Sunday and will end in Hyderabad on August 7.

Fetching more content...