Favorites Edit

2015 Dakshin Dare Rally: Sandeep Sharma and Arvind K.P. take early leads

370   //    04 Aug 2015, 11:57 IST
The 2015 Dakshin Dare Rally kicked off in Bengaluru on August 3

Chitradurga (Karnataka), August 3 Defending champion Sandeep Sharma (co-driver Karan Arya) of Team Maruti was on top in the four-wheelers (Ultimate Car) category, while TVS' Arvind K.P. led the chart in the two-wheelers (Ultimate Bike) competition on the first day of the seventh edition of the Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare Rally here on Monday.

Sandeep, driving a Gypsy, completed the two legs -- Windfarm and Alpha - in one hour, 33 minutes and 49 seconds. Samrat Yadav (co-driver Gaurav) of PVT team came second as the Gypsy driver completed a total distance of 75 km in an hour, 36 and 55 seconds. PVT's Harpreet Singh Bawa (co-driver Parminder Thakur) a third following his effort in one hour, 39 minutes and 14 seconds in a Gypsy.

The course for the day was marked with numerous windmill farms, strong winds, uneven rock-strewn paths and clouds overshadowing the entire episode.

In the two-wheelers competition, Arvind, riding on a TVS 450cc, grabbed the first position following his effort in one hour, 28 minutes and 44 seconds. R. Nataraj was second with one hour, 30 minutes and 4 seconds on a TVS 450cc bike and PVT's Vishawas S.D was distant third in one hour, 44 minutes and 11 seconds riding on a KTM 390cc bike.

In the Endurance Car category, run on Time-Speed-Distance (TSD) format, Dilip Jain (co-driver Chandu Shekhar) grabbed the top spot as he covered 370km with a penalty of 40 seconds.

Subhir Roy (co-driver Niraj) got a penalty of 42 seconds to be third, while Asgar Ali (co-driver Mustafa) was third with a penalty of 46 seconds.

The Ultimate Car category saw the participation of 24 teams while the Ultimate Bike category had 43 riders. In the Endurance Car category, 38 contenders started the competition.

On Tuesday, the participants will be passing the scenic route of the northern belt of Karnataka moving towards Shimoga. It will cover a distance of 220 km.

The rally was flagged off in Bengaluru on Sunday and will end in Hyderabad on August 7.

Fetching more content...