Favorites Edit

36 entries for Monsoon Challenge Rally

870   //    24 Jul 2013, 23:49 IST

File Photo

Country’s top Time-Speed-Distance Rally specialists, including National champions Satish Gopalkrishnan (co-driver Savera D’Souza) from Bangalore and last year’s winner Karthik Maruti (Sankar Anand) from Erode, are among 36 participants in the third Bangalore to Goa Monsoon Challenge Rally.

The three-day event offering a total prize-money of Rs.13 lakh, and held under the Mahindra Adventure umbrella, will commence Friday morning after a ceremonial start Thursday, according to Musa Sherif, president, Indian Motor Sports Club (IMSC), who will be conducting the 1,200-km rally.

Speaking at a media conference here Wednesday, Sherif, himself a navigator of international repute, said the competitors, who will be participating in various categories, will be provided medical and service support through the journey.

Ashwin Naik, also of IMSC, said the rally, which will have night halts in Mangalore on Friday and Shimoga on Saturday before the final run to Goa on Sunday, was more about navigational skills rather than just speed or driving.

The route will be a mix of tarmac and dirt roads taking the competitors through some scenic regions while also providing them opportunity to enjoy the monsoon vistas, and entries from all over India have been received, Naik said.

The categories include SUV Pro (those with terra trip meters), SUV OE (standard equipment), Cars, Corporate and Ladies.

Speaking on the occasion, Madhav Nene, general manager – marketing services, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., said: “The Monsoon Challenge promises to be one of the biggest TSD rallies in terms of prize-money on offer.

“Through the rally, it is our aim to provide exciting opportunities to engage the changing mindsets, aspirations and lifestyles of the upwardly mobile Indians,” he said.

“The journey also aims to celebrate the monsoon vistas of incredible India as it passes through some of India’s most exotic locales.”

Fetching more content...