Favorites Edit

JK Tyre FMSCI National Karting Championship: Day 1

Press Release
319   //    23 Aug 2015, 12:22 IST
Karters at Coimbatore’s Kari Motor Speedway yesterday

The JK Tyre FMSCI National Karting Championship returned to the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore after a year’s break, amid much excitement. Considered one of the fastest circuits in the world, the average speeds per lap at the track were in excess of 93km/hr.

The highest level of Indian Karting saw hard-fought battles in all 3 categories as laptimes were extremely close. The Senior category saw Rayo Racing’s Ameya Bafna start 4th in Heat 1 and slowly make his way up the order. The lead changed hands a few times, but Bafna emerged victorious ahead of Ricky Donison of BPC racing who started on Pole. Rayo Racing’s Nayan Chatterjee was third.

Heat 2 saw another intense battle for the lead as the top 4 racers were bumper-to-bumper throughout. Bafna started on pole, staying ahead for most of the race. Donison was in hot pursuit and moved ahead at one point. Bafna immediately managed to grab the lead back from Donison, winning the race for Rayo Racing. Chatterjee took advantage & grabbed 2nd spot ahead of Ricky who finished third.
The Junior grid also witnessed intense battles right through the field. Meco Racing team mates –Nirmal USB and Akash Gowda were battling for the lead throughout both the heats. Gowda won heat 1 ahead of Nirmal in Heat 1 while Nirmal beat Gowda in Heat 2. Championship leader Mohammed Nalwalla of Rayo Racing finished 3rd in both.

Chirag Ghorpade of BPC racing cruised to victory in both heats of the Micro. He was followed by the Meco Racing duo of Shahan Moshsin and Aditya Swaminathan in both heats.

The least points in both heats decide the starting order for the pre finals tomorrow. The ultra-competitive Senior category, which sees 7 champions on the grid will have reigning National Champion Ameya Bafna of Rayo Racing start on Pole for the Pre Final, ahead of current championship leader - Ricky Donison and Nayan Chatterjee.

Nirmal and  Gowda of Meco Racing will start 1st and 2nd in the Juniors ahead of Mohammed Nalwalla of Rayo Racing.

In the Micros, it will be Chirag Ghorpade on pole ahead of Mohsin and Swaminathan.

Round 3 will conclude tomorrow at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...