K Rajini stars in Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2013

Press Release
Modified 15 Sep 2013
K Rajini (front) on way to winning Honda CBR Race

K Rajini (front) on way to winning Honda CBR Race

September 15, 2013: K Rajini Krishnan stole the show with a win and runner-up place at Round 3 of the 2013 FMSCI-MMSC Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit Sunday. Both Honda CBR 250R and NRC Experts categories saw some close racing all weekend with a crowd of 15,000 fans present in the grandstand at the BIC.

The MMSC INMRC created history by becoming the first ever competitive bike championship to race at the BIC and included leading motorcycle manufacturers Honda, Yamaha & TVS participating this weekend.

First race of the day saw the TVS-Apache RTR180 in action and Mathana Kumar took the honours with another convincing win to complete a perfect weekend for the young rider. The battle for second was a five-way scrap with Ananth Raj finishing in second just ahead of SK Prakash. Arvind Ganesh finished in 4th position ahead of Mizoram rider B Lalrutsanga.

The second race of the day, the Yamaha-Y2F R15, saw Arun Muthukrishnan crossing the finish line ahead of Ramesh by a mere 0.448 seconds. Race 1 winner Shyam Shankar finished in 3rd place ahead of Vivek Pillai. The difference in time between 3rd position and 7th position was 3 tenths off a second as they crossed the finish line showing how close the racing was.

The CBR 250R race once again was highlight of the day with 7 riders all in position to win for the entire race. There was frantic trading of places for the entire race. Sarath Kumar, who started on pole, lost out at the start to Race 1 winner K Rajini Krishnan. Rajini led for the first two laps with Sarath, Sumit Lucas Toppo, Harshit Rao, A Prabhu all following.

Prabhu and Sarath took over the lead for a brief while before Rajini was back in front. Heading into the last lap Rajini led followed by Prabhu and Sarath. As they came out of the last corner Prabhu and Sarath collided with both crashing out of the race. Rajini held on for another great win with Sumit finishing in second and Harshit Rao in third place.

The last race of the day saw the NRC Experts 165cc take to the track. If the previous race was close the NRC Experts category provided even more action with some great wheel-to-wheel racing. Rajini was once again in the thick of things as he led from the start followed by K Jagan and Sumit Lucas Toppo.

Right behind them was Deepak R and Vivek Pillai with all 6 riders in with a chance to win. In the end Jagan overtook race leader Rajini on the final lap to finish 0.183 seconds behind. Deepak R finished in 3rd place, 0.265 seconds behind. The top 5 were separate by 0.765 seconds at the end of the race.

For more information please do visit

Published 15 Sep 2013
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now