Preview: Final round of national bike racing in Chennai

Sarath Kumar has also raced in Moto2
Sarath Kumar has also raced in Moto2

The fifth and concluding rounds of the 2015 MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship and the Honda One-Make Championship with a total of 75 entries is set for an exciting finish at the Madras Motor Race Track (MMRT) in Sriperumbudur near here this weekend.

The two-day event, commencing on Saturday, will see a total of 11 races as the final of the championships, which were originally scheduled for December but postponed due to rain, promises some rich fare as the country's leading riders will be vying for titles in various categories.

Thus far, only one title has been sealed - the Honda CBR 250 - with international rider Sarath Kumar of Ten10 Racing team emerging triumphant with a round to spare after chalking up six wins in a row for a tally of 186 points.

The likes of Sumit Lucas Toppo of Prolap Racing (121 points) and Dinesh Kumar D. of United Tech Torque (79) will fight it out for other podium spots along with two Ten10 Racing riders Mathana Kumar (78) and Hari Krishnan R. (71).

No clear favourite in other Groups

In sharp contrast, the Honda CBR 150 (Novice) class has Chennai riders Sivanesan S. and Aravind B. tied at the top with 141 points with three wins apiece, ahead of Coimbatore's Kishoar V.S. (95).

Likewise, all three categories of the National Championship - Group B (Open), Group C 165cc (Open) and Group D 165cc (Novice) - hold out a promise of close finishes as the title contenders are bunched together.

In the top-end Group B class, TVS Racing appear set to grab two podium spots as the minimum spots as Jagan Kumar (112) and Harry Sylvester (87) head the championship leaderboard followed by teammate K.Y. Ahmed (77) and Ten10 Racing's Sarath (69).

The Group C (Open) category has witnessed some stormy and exciting finishes in the four rounds at the end of which Mathana Kumar of Ten10 Racing (118) and Ananth Raj of Kingdom Racing India (115) besides Sumit Lucas Toppo of Prolap Racing (96) are in the hunt for top honours.

Similarly, the Group D (Novice) class has boiled down to a three-cornered fight involving Kannan Karnan of Moto-Rev Yamaha Racing (102), Aravind (94), a privateer, and Vishwadev Muralidharan of Sparks Racing (93). The three riders have won seven of the eight races over four rounds to stamp their dominance.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment