Favorites Edit

Shamim Khan wins the 26th edition of the Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally

Press Release
907   //    09 Aug 2015, 19:27 IST

Mumbai, August 9th 2015: In a field of 40 riders, Nashik’s Shamim Khan, riding a Mahindra Rodeo, overcame a strong field (which included a host of former champions) and tough conditions to emerge triumphant for the fourth time in the Gulf Monsoon Scooter Rally on Sunday.

The Team Mahindra rider, who was the champion in 2003, 2004 and 2010, rode over the dirt tracks of Navi Mumbai to win the gruelling 35-km race  of 31 minutes and 59 seconds in penalties. 

Defending champion R Natraj of TVS Racing, who pipped Khan in a close finish last year, was forced to pull out of the race immediately at the first Time Control itself due to a mechanical failure of his scooter. He was among four riders who failed to finish.

Pune’s Pinkesh Thakkar of Team Ceat, riding a Kinetic Honda, was second in 33 minutes and 45 seconds, while Bhopal’s Syed Asif Ali of TVS Racing, astride a TVS Wego finished third with 33:54.

The rally was flagged off by from Hotel K Star in Belapur CBD. Heavy rain over the last few days made riding on the gravel-laden, winding course dicey.

Under the circumstances, riders had to exercise extreme control while negotiating the steep inclines, hairpin bends and water-logged stretches they encountered. Some of them took a tumble or two and some even damaged their scooters.

While all participants performed admirably, with only 36 of the starters completing the rally special mention must be made about first-timers who went through the motions with equal élan.
Among them, Bhopal’s Mohammed Ali Khan on Suzuki Swish was adjudged the best and awarded the Firdosh Vajifdar trophy for his spirited riding, which saw him place fourth overall with a time of 34 minutes, 32 seconds.
While Shamim Khan won the overall title and topped in the 160 cc 4-stroke class, Thakkar won the 81cc to 110cc class 2-stroke class.

Former champion Manjeet Singh Bassan, of team Ceat, astride an LML Vespa, won the 111cc to 160cc class, finishing in 35.37 seconds. The prizes were given away by Commissioner of Police Navi Mumbai, Shri Prabhat Ranjan.
Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...