X1Racing League: Indian motorsports to witness history this weekend

Enter caption
Press Release

New Delhi, 27 November 2019: Indian motorsports will witness history when the world's first-ever motorsports league commences at the Buddh International Circuit in Delhi NCR on Saturday, 30 November 2019. The X1Racing League, a franchise-based motorsports competition founded by racers Armaan Ebrahim and Aditya Patel, will see six teams fighting it out for the title. A total of 30 international and domestic racers have been drafted in six teams for the first edition of the competition.

The X1Racing League is set to be hosted between November 30-December 1 at the Buddh International Circuit in Delhi NCR and, on 7 December and 8 December at the Madras Motor Race Track in Chennai. 

"X1Racing will provide a great platform for Indians to experience motorsports. We want young Indian drivers to have access to motorsports through the X1Racing League. The main reason behind organising the X1Racing League is to inspire young Indians to take up motorsports as a career," said Armaan Ebrahim.

Mathias Lauda, who will be racing for the AD Racing Delhi Team, explained the kind of impact the X1Racing League will have on India.

"I think the franchise-based format is a great format for motorsports. It works for all the other big sports like football and so on. Hopefully, the X1Racing League will grow over the years. A new format where international and domestic drivers race together will make the competition very interesting," said Lauda.

Gaurav Gill, who will also be racing for the Delhi Team, said that this League is unique because the racers in the competition come from different racing backgrounds.

"This X1Racing League will be unique because all the drivers in the competition will come from different disciplines of the sport such as Formula Racing ground, GT background or sports car racing. It will be interesting to see how all of us compete against each other," said Gill.

DG Races' Alex Yoong is excited to compete in a team-based motorsports tournament.

"In motorsports, we hardly get to compete as a team, so I am looking forward to it. I think the X1Racing League is a great idea. We have seen the franchise-based tournament has worked for cricket. We'll have to see how it works for motorsports in India," said Yoong.

The X1Racing League will have six teams comprising of five drivers and two cars in each team. Of the five drivers in each team, there will be one international male, one international female, one India international and two domestic racers. One of the domestic racers will represent the team in the race.

Each round will take place over two days, with each day starting off with a practice session, followed by qualifying and three back-to-back races. Every round will have six different races and each race will last for 30 minutes and will have three unique team-based race formats per day.

Edited by Sai Teja
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now