Details of EXO D.O.'s solo debut album are released, fans react to news of bonus tracks

D.O.'s "Empathy" will be coming out on July 26th (Image via SM Entertainment)
D.O.'s "Empathy" will be coming out on July 26th (Image via SM Entertainment)

EXO's D.O. is releasing his solo debut album soon, and fans are rejoicing as information regarding the drop continues to pour in.

D.O. (or Doh Kyung-soo) is a singer for the K-POP boy band EXO from SM TOWN (or SM Entertainment). Born on January 12th, 1993, the singer-songwriter debut as a member of EXO's (known as EXO-K at the time) original line-up in 2012.

He is regarded as a complex and skilled singer throughout the industry. He made his debut as an actor with the drama "It's Okay, That's Love," and his performance was well-received. The star went on to act in several dramas and movies, winning awards for the same.

Also read: What are the ages of the BLACKPINK members in 2021?

The wait is over for fans of EXO, as SM drops information regarding the album

D.O. made his mandatory military service enlistment in 2020, completing it in 2021. Since getting discharged, many fans have anticipated news for his eventual solo debut as other members of EXO had already made theirs.

Fortunately for them, the wait was not long as on June 25th, his label, SM Entertainment, announced that the 28-year-old would be releasing his first EP, titled "Empathy," or "공감" on July 26th.

Today, details regarding the album's packaging and contents were released by the company.

Empathy will have two different versions, a Photobook version and a Digipack version.

  • The Photobook version comes with a dust jacket featuring D.O., a photobook with 80 pages, a CD, a folded poster, a photocard, and another poster.
  • The Digipack version further splits into two choices - a Blue version or a Grey version. While the visuals and the picture contents of the albums will be different, they essentially come with a cover, a 28-page photobook, a CD, a folded poster, a photo card, and another poster.

All of the content will feature D.O. in various concepts pertaining to the album, with the pictures differing based on the type of album you receive.

Also read: NCT's Jungwoo and Stray Kid's Lee Know are rumored to host "Show! Music Core"

Tracklist for D.O.'s EP, Empathy

There will be a total of eight tracks on D.O.'s solo debut album:

  1. Rose [title track]
  2. I'm gonna love you (feat Wonstein)
  3. My Love
  4. It's Love
  5. Dad
  6. I'm Fine
  7. Rose [English Version] [BONUS]
  8. Si Fueras Mia [BONUS]

Also read: Top 5 K-POP boy groups of 2021 so far

Fans of D.O. and EXO react to upcoming release, share excitement over bonus tracks

As the tracklist was dropped for D.O.'s solo debut EP, many noticed two bonus tracks on the album, which surprised fans.

One track is a bonus English version of the title track "Rose," while the second one was a Spanish track titled "Si Fueras Mia," which fans did not see coming.

EXO-Ls (fans of EXO) and D.O. fans alike gathered on Twitter to discuss the upcoming release.

EXO D.O.'s album will be released very soon. A music video for the title track, Rose, is scheduled to come out simultaneously. Just before that, a teaser for the music video will come out on July 23rd, so fans can look forward to that.

Also read: Former EXO member Kris Wu loses brand deals amid sexual assault controversy

Edited by Ravi Iyer