Favorites Edit

5 reasons why the Delhi Acers won the 2016 PBL title

Top 5 / Top 10
1.64K   //    19 Jan 2016, 12:55 IST

After losing their first two matches, the Delhi Acers made the most spectacular turnaround imaginable as they remained unbeaten after that, en route to winning the 2016 Premier Badminton League (PBL) title. They were one of the most well-bonded teams of the PBL, where every member played a crucial role in leading the team to the win.Here’s a look at five major factors that helped the Acers to emerge triumphant:

#1 Flawless record in trump matches

Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Hong

The men's doubles pair of Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Hong starred in their team’s victories

The Delhi Acers were the only team who had a flawless 7-0 record in ‘trump matches’. Since winning a trump match gives a team a bonus point, the Acers were able to bounce back swiftly from any setback they encountered during their ties.

A lot of the credit for this goes to the team captain and the management in singling out the right players for the trump matches. The men’s singles duo of Tommy Sugiarto and Rajiv Ouseph, the men’s doubles team of Koo Kien Keat/Tan Boon Heong and the mixed doubles pair of Gabrielle Adcock/Akshay Dewalkar were responsible for the seven vital wins.

The ability of their big name players to consistently thrive under pressure was what presented the Delhi outfit with these very important victories.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...