⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

No further additions to Arjuna Awards nominations

20 Aug 2014, 11:56 IST
Kapil Dev

New Delhi, Aug 19 (IANS) The Arjuna Awards selection committee, headed by former India captain Kapil Dev, Tuesday decided against making any additions to the list of 15 athletes it had picked up last week for the prestigious sports award.

The committee was forced to review the list after the furore over choosing boxer Jai Bhagwan -- over 2010 Commonwealth Games gold medallist boxer Manoj Kumar -- and squash player Anaka Alankamony.

The Kapil Dev-led committee discussed seven athletes Tuesday and unanimously agreed that there was no need to make any changes to the list. The sports ministry is not likely to accept the recommendations for the sports awards slated for Aug 29.

Jiji Thomson, Sports Authority of India (SAI) director general who was part of the Awards committee, said it was unanimously agreed that there was no need of any new names.

"It was unanimously agreed that new names were not needed. Every year there will be a case of some deserving athlete being left out and they will get when their turn comes later," said Thomson. The panel was also slammed by Hockey India (HI) secretary general Narinder Batra after seven of its players were overlooked for the award.

Here is the list of Arjuna award nominees for 2014:

Name Sport
Akhilesh Varma Archery
Tintu Luka Athletics
H N Girisha Paralympics
V Diju Badminton
Geetu Ann Jose Basketball
Jai Bhagwan Boxing
R Ashwin Cricket
Anirban Lahiri Golf
Mamta  Pujari Kabaddi
Saji Thomas Rowing
Heena Sidhu Shooting
Anaka Alankamony Squash
Tom Joseph Volleyball
Renubala Chanu Weightlifting
Sunil Rana Wrestling
Fetching more content...