5 things you need to know about the 2015 Jaipur Junior Open

Adya Advani is the girls’ top seed at the Open

The action in junior squash is heating up in the country with the 2015 Jaipur Junior Open set to begin next week. The tournament will once again give the budding Indian talent great exposure to high level of competition and will help them to improve as they keep on pursuing the higher echelons of the sport.

Here are five things that one needs to know about the upcoming Jaipur Junior Open:

Location & Date – The 2015 Jaipur Junior Open is scheduled to be held from 2-6 September at the prestigious Jaipur Club in Jacob Road which was established in 1890. This is the second consecutive year for this tournament.

Tournament ranking – It is an elite level junior tournament having earned a four-star rating from The Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI). Last year, this event was deemed a three-star tournament.

In 2015, there are three four-star junior squash events scheduled in India – the first one was the NSCI Junior Open held from 8-13 August, followed by the Jaipur Junior Open. The last of this trio of tournaments is the Indian Junior Open to be held in Jodhpur from 26-30 September.

Number of players & age categories – The number of players participating at the 2015 Jaipur Junior Open is 363. They will be vying for each of the 10 categories – Boys Under 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19; Girls Under 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19.

One player is eligible to participate only in one category at a time. Play-offs for all the top 8 positions will be held in each of the categories.

Know the top 2 seeds – The top two seeds in each of the 10 categories are –


1. Boys Under 11: Top seed – Paarth Ambani, second seed – Vivaan Shah 2. Boys Under 13: Top seed – Navaneeth Prabhu S, second seed – Kanhav Nanavati 3. Boys Under 15: Top seed – Tushar Shahani, second seed – Rahul Baitha 4. Boys Under 17: Top seed – Yash Bhargava, second seed – Aryaman Adik 5. Boys Under 19: Top seed – Aishwary Singh, second seed – Junaid Muzaffar Thoker


1. Girls Under 11: Top seed – Yuvna Gupta, second seed – Saisha Gupta 2. Girls Under 13: Top seed – Megha Bhatia, second seed – Ananya Dabke 3. Girls Under 15: Top seed – Navmi Sharma, second seed – Samita Sivakumar 4. Girls Under 17: Top seed – Sunayna Kuruvilla, second seed – Koel Shankar 5. Girls Under 19: Top seed – Adya Advani, second seed – Aishwarya Bhattacharya

Know the defending champions – The defending champions in each of the ten categories are –


1. Boys Under 11: Shreyas Mehta 2. Boys Under 13: Yash Fadte 3. Boys Under 15: Tushar Shahani 4. Boys Under 17: Adhitya Raghavan 5. Boys Under 19: Vijay Kumar


1. Girls Under 11: Aishwarya Khubchandani 2. Girls Under 13: Avani Nagar 3. Girls Under 15: Navmi Sharma 4. Girls Under 17: Akanksha Salunkhe 5. Girls Under 19: Vruddhi Doshi

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment