⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Commonwealth Games 2014: Indian squash players look to win first medals in the sport

22 Jul 2014, 10:40 IST
Indian squash team of Dipika, Joshana, Saurav, Mahesh , Harinder and Anaka

The Indian squash team will be hoping to create history at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014 by winning India's first ever medal in the sport.

Squash was introduced in the Commonwealth Games in 1998 at Kuala Lumpur and some of the best players in the world are from the Commonwealth nations. And although Australia, England, Malaysia and New Zealand have stronger teams on paper, India have players who could cause an upset on a given day.

All members of the current Indian team, except Mahesh, had competed at Delhi CWG 2010.

Following are the brief profiles of Indian squash team members:

1. Dipika Pallikal (World No. 10)

Winner of Macau Open 2013 and Tournament of Champions 2012. Quarterfinalist at World Open 2011. Gold medalist at Asian team championship 2012.

2. Saurav Ghosal (World No. 16) 

Quarterfinalist at World Championship. Bronze at Asian Games 2006. Silver medallist at Asian Team Championship 2012.

3. Joshana Chinappa (World No. 21)


Winner of Winter Club Open 2014, Richmond Open, 2014 and Chennai Open 2012. Gold medallist at Asian Team Championship 2012.

4. Mahesh Mangaonkar (World No. 70) 

Winner of Prague Open, 2012 and IMET Open, 2013. Silver medallist at Asian Team Championship 2012.

5. Harinder Pal Sandhu (World No. 83) 

Runner-up at PSA Valencia Cup at Spain, 2012. Silver medallist at Asian Team Championship 2012.

6. Anaka Alankamony (World No. 141)

Gold medallist at Asian Team Championship 2012.

The squash events at Glasgow 2014 will begin on 24th July with the singles events, which will conclude on the 28th. The competition for doubles categories will begin on 29th and will go on till 3rd August. While the singles event will have a knockout structure, the doubles events will have a pool stage followed by a knockout phase.

Dipika, Joshana and Saurav have received seedings 6, 12 and 4 respectively.


Following are the schedules of first round singles matches of Indian players:

24 July

Women’s singles, Round of 32     

Dipika Pallikal vs TBD
Joshana Chinappa vs TBD    

Women’s singles, Round of 64

Anaka Alankamony vs Khaaliqa Nimji (KEN)

Men’s singles, Round of 64    

Saurav Ghosal vs Jules Snagg (SVG)                          

Mahesh Mangaonkar vs Hardeep Reel (KEN)                                                                                        

Harinder Pal Sandhu vs Michael Craig (NIR)

Following are the Indian teams taking part in doubles events which will begin on 29th July:

Women’s doubles: Dipika Pallikal / Joshana Chinappa (seeded No. 5 and placed in Pool 4).

Men’s doubles: Saurav Ghosal / Harinder Pal Sandhu (seeded No. 7 and placed in Pool 7).

Mixed doubles: Dipika Pallikal / Saurav Ghosal (seeded No. 5 and placed in Pool 5), and Joshana Chinappa / Harinder Pal Sandhu (seeded No. 10 and placed in Pool 7).

Fetching more content...