Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Qatar & Iraq to make World Team Championship debuts

Press Release
782   //    15 Jun 2015, 14:03 IST
Two new teams will be part of the Men's World Team Squash Championship this year

Qatar and Iraq will make their debuts in the 2015 Men's World Team Squash Championship which will take place for the first time in Kuwait, from 12-18 December.

The 25th biennial World Squash Federation championship will feature 25 nations: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Columbia, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, China, India, Iraq, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, Qatar, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland and USA.

England will be defending the title they won for the fifth time, but first time since 2007, in France - where they beat three-time champions Egypt in a dramatic final. The 2013 championship was staged at the Palais De Sports in the Eastern French city of Mulhouse, where action was held on three side-by-side glass showcourts and hosts France won the bronze medal.

The 2015 line-up also includes eight-time champions Australia and six times winners Pakistan. Stage one of the championship is a group phase before the knock-out ties of stage two will decide all the finishing positions.

Hosts Kuwait will be looking for a top eight finish for the first time, while newcomers Qatar will be moving up to the senior ranks after making their debut in the World Junior Team Championship in 2012.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...