National Table Tennis Championships: Anirban, Sagarika win sub-junior crowns


New Delhi - Anirban Ghosh and Sagarika Mukherjee, both from West Bengal, emerged champions in the sub-junior sections of the National Ranking (North Zone) Table Tennis Championships at the Thyagraj Stadium here on Saturday.

Anirban defated Birdie Boro of PSPB Academy 4-2 while Sagarika overcame a stiff resistance from Uttar Pradesh’s Aishwarya Pathak to lift the title 4-3.

This was Anirban’s second sub-junior boys crown this season. He had earlier won it at the South Zone event at Bengaluru. But for Sagarika, it was a fruitful attempt here after some close calls in earlier zonals.

In the Cadet Boys final, Harsh Srivastava of PSPB Academy defeated Regan Alberqueque of Maharashtra 11-6, 11-7, 7-11, 13-11, 11-8 to win the title.

Delhi’s Ishita Gupta blanked out Dia Mukherjee of West Bengal 11-9, 11-6, 11-6, 11-5 to wear the crown in the Cadet Girls section.

For both Harsh and Ishita, it was their maiden title triumph.


Sub-Junior Boys Final: Anirban Ghosh bt Bidie Boro 7-11, 11-9, 11-8, 5-11, 11-3, 12-10.

Sub-Junior Girls Final: Sagarika Mukherjee bt Aishwarya Pathak 8-11, 11-13, 5-11, 13-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-8.

Cadet Boys Final: Harsh Srivastava bt Regan Alberqueque 11-6, 11-7, 7-11, 13-11, 11-8.

Cadet Girls Final: Ishita Gupta bt Dia Mukherjee 11-9, 11-6, 11-6, 11-5.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment