WTT Contender Lagos 2024: Results at the end of Day 4

Table Tennis - Commonwealth Games: Day 10
Table Tennis - Commonwealth Games: Day 10

Indian paddlers had quite an interesting day in the ongoing WTT Contender Lagos 2024. A few of them made it to the final, scheduled to take place on Sunday, June 23, in Lagos, Nigeria.

Moving to the details of the men’s singles, it was a disappointing show from Sharath Kamal and Manav Thakkar, as they lost to France’s Thibault Poret and Korea’s Lim Jonghoon, respectively, in the quarterfinals.

Shifting our focus to the women’s singles, Sreeja Akula made it to the grand finale after her exceptional performances in the quarter-finals and semi-finals. Although Sutirtha Mukherjee defeated defending champion Shin Yubin in the quarter-finals, she couldn’t advance to the final after losing to Sreeja Akula.

In the men’s doubles events, Harmeet Desai and Manav Thakkar moved to the finals after defeating Kang Youde and Ning Xiankun in the semi-finals of the WTT Contender Lagos. In women’s doubles, it’s going to be an all-Indian final. Sreeja Akula and Archana Girish will take on Yashaswini Ghorpade and Diya Parag in the title clash.

Moving to the mixed doubles events, Archana Girish and Manav Thakkar made it to the final after defeating Lim Jonghoon and Shin Yubin in the semi-finals of the WTT Contender Lagos.

WTT Contender Lagos 2024: Day 4 Results (Indians only)

Men's Singles:

Quarter-Final: Sharath Kamal lost to Thibault Poret by 2-3 (8-11, 11-9, 7-11, 11-9, 6-11)

Quarter-Final: Manav Thakkar lost to Lim Jonghoon by 2-3 (11-9, 10-12, 11-5, 13-15, 8-11)

Women's Singles:

Quarter-Final: Sutirtha Mukherjee beat Shin Yubin by 3-2 (11-9, 3-11, 9-11, 11-9, 11-6)

Quarter-Final: Yashaswini Ghorpade lost to Sreeja Akula by 0-3 (6-11, 9-11, 8-11)

Quarter-Final: Ayhika Mukherjee beat Farida Badawy by 3-0 (11-6, 14-12, 11-5)

Semi-Final: Sreeja Akula beat Sutirtha Mukherjee by 3-2 (11-8, 13-15, 11-9, 9-11, 12-10)

Semi-Final: Ding Yijie beat Ayhika Mukherjee by 3-2 (11-7, 7-11, 11-2, 11-13, 11-4)

Men’s Doubles:

Semi-Final: Harmeet Desai - Manav Thakkar beat NING - KANG by 3-0 (11-4, 11-9, 11-5)

Women’s Doubles:

Semi-Final: Sreeja Akula - Archana Girish beat Ayhika Mukherjee - Sutirtha Mukherjee by 3-0 (11-7, 11-5, 12-10)

Semi-Final: Yashaswini Ghorpade - Diya Parag beat DING - SUN by 3-1 (14-12, 6-11, 11-6, 11-7)

Mixed Doubles:

Semi-Final: Archana Girish - Manav Thakkar beat LIM-SHIN by 0-3 (5-11, 3-11, 10-12)

Semi-Final: Diya Parag - Manush Shah lost to XU - LUO by 1-3 (11-6, 7-11, 3-11, 10-12)

Quick Links

Edited by Parag Jain
App download animated image Get the free App now