Bengaluru FC


Full NameBengaluru Football Club

Nick NameThe Blues


GroundSree Kanteerava Stadium

Team Owner(s)JSW Group


About Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC’s founding as a club in 2013 came as a relief for a city that was starved of Indian football. In fact, the cornerstone of the club’s success almost every season has been the fans. With fans being an important part of proceedings, Bengaluru FC has managed to create a good footballing culture in the city.

From their first season in the I-League, the Blues have managed to find a way to win irrespective of the players they have. The Blues have managed to secure trophies in all the seasons they have played, something not many clubs in India have managed to do. In the years to come,

Also see: Bengaluru FC Fixtures


Jindal Steel formally known as JSW put in a bid for the club to play in the I-League ahead of the 2013 edition of the I-League. Former Manchester United youth product Ashley Westwood took charge of the club as head coach and set a winning way almost immediately. Australian forward Sean Rooney, I-League veteran Johnny Menyongar, and defenders Curtis Osano and John Johnson were among the first overseas players to play for the club.

Indian captain Sunil Chhetri, forward Robin Singh, and several others rounded out the squad for the Blues’ inaugural season where they managed to claim the I-League title. In recent years, Bengaluru FC has managed to give a chance to younger players such as Suresh Singh Wangjam and Udanta Singh, with the latter having played for the Indian national team.

Trajectory in the ISL

Having joined the ISL at the start of the 2017 season, the Blues hit the ground running with a runners’ up finish in their first season. The club would go on to win the title the following season. The 2019-20 season ended in disappointment with the club lacking impetus in front of goal, something coach Carles Cuadrat will be hoping to rectify for the upcoming season.

Former FC Barcelona assistant manager Albert Roca took charge of BFC for the first two seasons of the Indian Super League before his assistant Carles Cuadrat took over. Cuadrat led the Blues to the ISL title and the League Winners’ Shield.

Prominent Successes

The Blues have managed to win titles in each season they have played barring the 2019-20 season. They have won the ISL League Winners’ Shield once, the ISL championship once, and the I-League twice. The club also has two Federation Cup wins and one Indian Super Cup win.

Bengaluru FC became the first Indian club to qualify for a continental competition final when they reached the final of the 2016 AFC Cup.

Low Points

The previous season witnessed Bengaluru FC end the season without silverware, the first time something like this has ever happened in their existence. Needless to say, Carles Cuadrat will be hoping that the upcoming season will yield some silverware for the club.

Major players

Sunil Chhetri, without a doubt, will be the most important player for Bengaluru FC in the upcoming season of the ISL. Udanta Singh, Harmanjot Khabra, and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu will also be key to the club’s chances.

The previous season witnessed a lack in the number of goals being scored. The signings of Cleiton Silva and Kristian Opseth would be key along with Jamaican Deshorn Brown. Dimas Delgado and Erik Paartalu will also be important along with Juanan and Fran Gonzalez.

Fetching more content...