Chennai Smashers


Full NameChennai Smashers


GroundJawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai

Team Owner(s)Vijaya Prabhakaran

Prominent PlayersSung Ji Hyun, Chris Adcock, Saili Rane, Wei Feng Chong, Parupalli Kashyap, Rajiv Ouseph, Gabrielle Adcock, Rutuparna Panda, B. Sumeeth Reddy, Or Chin Chung


Chennai Smashers is a badminton franchise representing Chennai, India that plays in the Premier Badminton League (PBL). They were the winners of the Season 2 of PBL. Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium, Chennai is their home ground. The franchise is owned by VPVS Sports Pvt. Ltd. and coached by Vijaydeep Singh.

Past record

Chennai Smashers’ best record was when they beat Mumbai Rockets 4-3 to win the Season 2 of PBL. They defeated Awadhe Warriors 4-1 to reach the finals.

YearPositionMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches Lost Trump Matches WonTrump Matches LostTotal Points
20163   25   10 104117
2017     3 258125018
2017-18 7258123212

Current Squad

NameCountryWorld RankCategory
Sung Ji HyunSouth Korea9Women’s Singles
Saili RaneIndia130Women’s Singles
Wei Feng ChongMalaysia43Men’s Singles
Parupalli KashyapIndia57Men’s Singles
Rajiv OusephEngland36Men’s Singles
Gabrielle AdcockEngland10Doubles
Rutuparna PandaIndia654Doubles
Chris AdcockEngland10Doubles
B. Sumeeth Reddy India26Doubles
Or Chin ChungHong Kong 60Doubles

Premier Badminton League 2018-19 Fixtures

DateMatchVenueTime (IST)
25 December 2018Chennai Smashers vs Hyderabad HuntersGachibowli Indoor Stadium, Hyderabad19:00
30 December 2018Chennai Smashers vs Ahmedabad Smash Hunters Shree Chhatrapati Shivaji Sports Complex, Mahalunge - Balewadi, Pune16:00
3 January 2019Chennai Smashers vs Pune 7 AcesThe Arena by SE TransStadia, Ahmedabad19:00
5 January 2019Chennai Smashers vs Mumbai RocketsThe Arena by SE TransStadia, Ahmedabad16:00
7 January 2019Chennai Smashers vs Awadhe WarriorsKanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bengaluru19:00
10 January 2019Chennai Smashers vs Bengaluru RaptorsKanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bengaluru19:00
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now