Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Jamshedpur FC


Jitendra Singh India - 19
Keegan Joseph Clarance Pereira India Left 33
Sandip Mandi India - 18
José Luis Espinosa Arroyo Spain Left 29
Narender Gahlot India - 19
Robin Gurung India - 28
Joyner Lourenco India - 29
Augustin Melwyn Fernandes India - 32
Karan Amin India - 31
Noé Acosta Rivera Spain Left 37
Mohammad Mobashir Rahman India - 22
Francisco Medina Luna Spain Left 39
Bikash Jairu India - 38
Amarjit Singh Kiyam India - 19
Issac Vanmalsawma India - 24
Aitor Monroy Rueda Spain - 33
Emerson Gomes de Moura Brazil - 32
Francisco David Grande Serrano Spain - 29
Aniket Jadhav India Right 20
Sergio Castel Martínez Spain - 25
Gourav Mukhi India - 18
CK Vineeth India - 32
Sumeet Passi India - 26
Farukh Choudhary India - 24
Md Rafique Ali Sardar India - 22
Amrit Gope India - 21
Niraj Kumar India - 18
Subrata Pal India - 34

Jamshedpur FC is a professional football club that is based in the industrial city of Jamshedpur, Jharkhand and plays in the Indian Super League. They play their home games at the JRD Tata Sports Complex which has a seating capacity of 24,424. Owing to the rich history of the city’s hand in India’s steel industry, the team is also known as the “Men of Steel”. In fact their home stadium is also called “The Furnace” for that very reason.

One of the two new clubs introduced in the 2017-18 season after the Indian Super League opened up two expansion spots, Jamshedpur FC joined alongside Bengaluru FC.

For the upcoming 2018-19 ISL season, they will be captained by Australian legend Tim Cahill, who will feature as the biggest name of the new season of the Indian Super League. This is going to be his first time playing in the Indian league and will be looking forward to test his prime qualities against the domestic players. Jamshedpur FC will be coached by former Atletico Madrid manager Cesar Ferrando after Steve Coppell decided to join two-time champions ATK.


The club was formed after Tata Steel, a subsidiary of the Tata Group won the bid for forming two new teams which will feature from the 2017-18 season. The steel giants have been a pioneer in the development of sports in India, and will be looking for a new project with Jamshedpur FC.

The owners host an annual community football cup, which is participated by over 25,000 locals. They even have a decent grassroots programme to bring out the talent in young footballers, who are then selected to play for the ‘B’ team.

Trajectory in the ISL

Jamshedpur have played just one season in the Indian Super League, where they finished on the fifth place and narrowly missed out on a play-off standing.

Only their inaugural season, there were plenty of positives to take from the previous season and build upon. Despite a few creases that need to be sorted out, Jamshedpur FC will prove to be solid side in the upcoming season of the ISL.

Low Points

Jamshedpur FC put up an encouraging performance in their inaugural season but it also highlighted certain problems in the squad that needed addressing. Particularly, the issue of conceding goals and not scoring enough goals to make up for it. The Men of Steel were really good at holding out the best teams in the league, but failed to capitalise their chances. Last season, they ended up conceding 18 goals while they only managed to score 16 goals.

Key Players for 2018-19

Tim Cahill, their marquee player and captain will no doubt shoulder a lot of expectations. He is expected to bring that lethal threat in attack that the Men of Steel lacked sorely last season. Young strikers Sumeet Passi and Aniket Jadhav will be looking forward to play with the stellar forward and learn a few tips and tricks of the trade.

Jamshedpur will sorely miss the defensive duo of India international Anas Edathodika and Cameroonian defender Andre Bikey, who were the reason why the team was so solid at the back. They have managed to retain Tiri in defence, who will be accompanied by Raju Gaikwad but don’t have any other key names in defence. Experienced Indian goalkeepers Subrata Pal and Subhasish Roy Chowdhury will be marshalling the posts for Jamshedpur FC.

Matches Played
Win %
Final Result

Fetching more content...