Favorites Edit

Khelo India 2019, Weightlifting: Dharshini, Rudra impress

312   //    14 Jan 2019, 22:15 IST

Representation image
Representation image

Pune, Jan 14 (PTI) Tamil Nadu duo T Dharshini and S Rudra Mayan turned in dazzling performances to snap up gold medals on day six of the weightlifting competition of the Khelo India Youth Games here on Monday.

With only a day to go, Maharashtra sit atop the table with a total of 13 medals, stamping their authority seven times with gold along with three silver and as many bronze, a media release said.

Punjab with four gold are second, while Tamil Nadu joined the bandwagon along with Manipur, Andhra Pradesh and Mizoram with three gold each.

In the women's 81 kg U-17 category, Maharashtra girl Vaishnavi Pawar grabbed gold with a total of 114 kg (snatch 54 kg, clean and jerk 60kg).

A determined Dharshini ensured that a U-17 bronze would be compensated with gold in the 81 kg U-21 category.

She had a total of 192 kg (snatch 85, clean and jerk 107kg).

S Rudra Mayan from Tamil Nadu displayed excellent technique in the men's +102 kg U-17 category clinching the gold and breaking records in snatch, clean and jerk and total weight.

He had a total of 269 kg (snatch 118 kg, clean and jerk 151 kg).

Rudra Mayan eclipsed the earlier records by 3 kg in snatch, by 8 kg in clean and jerk and by 11 kg in total weight.


In the men's 102kg U-17s, UP took both gold and silver.

Muskan Singh of Haryana won gold in the women's +81 kg U-17 category with a total weight of 135 kg (snatch 60 kg, clean and jerk 75 kg).


U-17 Youth Womens 81kg: 1. Vaishnavi Pawar (Mah) 114 kg, 2. Reddi Gayathri (AP) 109 kg, 3. M Deeba (Tnd) 102 kg.

U-17 Youth Women's +81kg: 1. Muskan Singh (Hrn) 135 kg, 2. Maibam Martina Devi (Mnp) 130 kg, 3. A Mohana Priya (Tnd) 123 kg.

U-21 Junior Women's 81kg: 1. T Dharshini (Tnd) 192 kg, 2. Christina Tayeng (Arn) 154 kg, 3. Shweta Pundir (UP) 154 kg.

U-17 Youth Men's 102 kg: 1. Pushpendra Singh Chaudhary (UP) 254 kg, 2. Avinash Yadav (UP) 234 kg.

U-17 Youth Mens +102 kg: 1. S Rudra Mayan (Tnd) 269 kg, 2. Ashwani Tejya (UP) 250 kg, 3. Gagandeep Gill (Pun) 216 kg.

U-21 Junior Men's 102 kg: 1. BSD Vishnu Vardhan (AP) 279 kg, 2. Pradeep Kumar Yadav (UP) 277 kg, 3. Dilpreet Singh (Pun) 245 kg