Odisha State Weightlifting Championships 2014-15

Pro Sport Development has successfully organised the Odisha State Weightlifting Championship 2014-15 in association with Odisha Weightlifting Association and Gram Vikas. The championship, sponsored by the Hero MotoCorp LTD., was held at the Khel Vikas Centre of Excellence in Mohuda, Berhampur on the 22nd and 23rd, November, 2014.The inauguration of the competition was presided by Shri Narayan Sahu, National Secretary, Indian Weightlifting Federation. The Chief Guest, Shri Shibshankar Dash, Ex-Mayor of Berhampur Municipal Corporation, proceeded to cut the ribbon and the Guest of Honour, Akshay Pattnaik, District Sports Officer, Ganjam, declared the event open.

Chief Guest and the Guests of Honour inaugurating the event at KV’s Centre OF Excellence

The championship commenced with the Youth girls competing for a chance to represent the state at the Nationals. The starting weight category of 44kg saw Khel Vikas athletes Jyoti Badamundi and Namita Mallik claiming the first medals of the day. There was a galore of records broken in the subsequent categories, with Jhilli Dalabehera breaking records in both Youth and Junior 48 kg categories. Youth Commonwealth and Youth Asian Games champion and National Youth record holder, Aruna Santa, broke the snatch record in Junior category. 14-year old Sanatana Mallik of Khel Vikas broke both the C&J and the total records in the Youth Boys' 69kg category, with a lift of 118kg. Narasingha Satapathy of Ganjam District broke all records in the +105kg Junior boys' category lifting 118kg in snatch and 147kg in C&J, a combined total of 265kg.

Kalia Behera of Khel Vikas executing his Snatch position perfectly.

Ashwin Narayan Kailasnath, Senior Area Manager, Hero MotoCorp - Odisha, and Mr Santosh Kumar, Managing Director, Lakshmi Motors, Berhampur, have graced as the guests for the second day of the proceedings. The senior men maintained the trend of breaking records, with Susanta Sahu of Ganjam creating a new record in Snatch in 62kg category. Jhilli Dalabehera of Khorda extended her medal haul also winning the 48 kg Senior category. Indian Junior International lifter, Kiran Kumari Digal, has ascertained her dominance in the state winning the gold in both Junior and Senior cateogries. Mihir Kanta Sethi of Ganjam district also picked up a gold medal each in Junior and Senior Categories.

Overall, it was an action-packed two days, with many records broken at all levels of the competition. Pro Sport Development would like to thank Odisha Weightlifting Association for their support through the event and the Hero MotoCorp for helping us in organising the event in a grand manner.

Hero Best Female Lifter - Youth: Jhilli dalabeheraHero Best Male Lifter - Youth: Umakanta SethyHero Best Female Lifter - Junior: Jhilly DalabeheraHero Best Male Lifter - Junior: Nihir Kanta SethiHero Best Female Lifter - Senior: Swarupa PurtyHero Best Male Lifter - Senior: Susanta Sahu

Sushant Sahu is delighted on winning the Hero Best Male Lifter Senior 2014-15.

District Champion - Male: GanjamDistrict Champion - Female: Khorda

The winners of all categories are listed below:

Youth Girls: Jyoti Badamundi (44kg), Jhilli Dalabehera (48kg), Moti Jani (53kg), Jhumi Mandal (58kg), Rajeswari Behera (69kg), R. Sandhya (75kg)

Youth Boys: Jagdish Nayak (50kg), Bidyadar Sahu (56kg), Umakanta Sethy (62kg), Sanatan Mallik (69kg), Deepak Kumar Sethi (77kg)

Junior Women: Jhilli Dalabehera (48kg), Archana Pradhan (53kg), Padmini Padi (58kg), Roshini Tandi (63kg), Kiran Kumari Digal (69kg), Damini Kumari Sahi (75kg).

Junior Men: Sushanta Kumar Hembram (56kg), Mihir Kanta Sethy (62kg), Susanta Sethy (69kg), Deepak Kumar Sethi (77kg), Suresh Kumar Yadav (85kg), Rakesh Kumar Jena (94kg), Narasingha Satapathy (+105kg)

Senior Women: Jhilli Dalabehera (48kg), Padmini Padhy (53kg), Swarupa Purty (58kg), Roshni Tandi (63kg), Subha Smita Mohanty (69kg), Kiran Kumara Digal (75kg), Divya Jyoti (+75kg)

Senior Men: Bidyadar Sahu (56kg), Susanta Sahu (62kg), Mihir Kanta Sethi (69kg), K. Simanchal Achery (77kg), Suresh Kumar Yadav (85kg), Deepak Kumar Sahu (94kg), Sibaram Sahu (105kg), G. Gajendra(+105kg)

Edited by Staff Editor