Favorites Edit

2015 World Championships final - Carolina Marin clinches the world title after beating Saina Nehwal in straight games

2.04K   //    16 Aug 2015, 12:27 IST
Saina Nehwal and Carolina Marin with their respective medals

India's Saina Nehwal lost the final of the 2015 World Championships 21-16 21-19 to Spain's Carolina Marin in Jakarta on Sunday.

Saina began the match well, winning 3 out of the first 5 points to go 3-2 up. She then further built the lead, to win the 3 out of the next 5 points as well to go 6-4 up. But things started to tilt towards the Spaniard’s favour at the 7-7 mark when Marin took the lead for the first time in the match and maintained that advantage  to lead 11-7 at the interval mark. 

After the interval, Marin continued to chip away with the points, winning 3 out of the 5 points after the interval to go 14-9 up. But an important break at the 16-10 mark, proved vital as Saina started to slowly claw her way back, winning 3 points straight to make it 13-16. But at that mark, Marin won 4 points on the trot to go 20-13 up and attain 7 game point opportunities. But Saina refused to back down without a fight, winning 3 points straight to reduce the deficit. But after yet another small break, Marin returned to finish the game 21-16 and take a crucial opening game lead.

Saina began the second game in a similar manner to the first, winning 3 out of the first 4 points to go 3-1 up. But Marin continued to stay in the contest, winning 4 out of the next 5 points to make 4-5. But Saina continued to hold on to her advantage, winning 3 out of the next 4 points to go 8-5 up. Despite Marin putting in her best, the World No.2 took an 11-6 lead at the interval.

After the interval, Marin started to claw her back, winning 4 out of the next 5 points to reduce the deficit to 10-12. The Spaniard then won 2 more points straight  to square it 12-12 and the took the lead to go 13-12 up. 

But a vital break at the 13-13 mark seemed to have helped the Indian as she won two points straight to go 15-13 up. But Marin fought back once again, winning 4 out of the next 6 points to level the score at 17-17.

But Marin again took the lead at that points, winning 2 out of the next points to fo 19-18 up. But Saina refused to throw in the towel, winning the next point to make it 19-19. But few more errors on Saina's part meant Marin won the second game 21-19 to win the title two years in a row.

Final Scoreline- Carolina Marin beat Saina Nehwal 21-16 21-19

Topics you might be interested in:
Massive Rafael Nadal fan. Occasional writer. blog:
Fetching more content...