Favorites Edit

2016 Premier Badminton League: Awadhe Warriors beat Delhi Acers 4-3 to register first win

830   //    04 Jan 2016, 22:49 IST
Saina Nehwal clinched her maiden win of the PBL 2016

Despite a terrific win in the last rubber, the Delhi Acers narrowly 3-4 to the Awadhe Warriors in the opening day of Lucknow leg of the 2016 Premier Badminton League in Lucknow on Monday.

Here’s how all the action unfolded:

1.Men’s Singles: Tanongsak Saensomboonsak(AW) vs Tommy Sugiarto(DA)

The opening game saw both players win 2 out of the first 4 points respectively before at 2-2 mark, it was Sugiarto who took the lead, winning two straight to go 4-2. But the Indonesia lost some momentum at the 6-5 mark when he injured his leg. But that didn't deter him too much and he went on to take an 8-7 lead at the interval.

The other side of the interval saw Sugiarto stretch his lead before Saensomboonsak fought back well to take a 10-9advantage. But at the 10-10, the World No.12 took control of proceedings once again, taking a 12-11 lead, before winning 3 out of the next 5 points to win the opening game 15-13.

The second game began in similar fashion to the 1st, but at the 3-3 mark, it was Sugiarti who took the lead, winning two points consecutively to go 5-3 up. But Saensomboonsak made a defiant comeback, winning 3 out of the next 4 points to level the scores at 6-6. But 2 costly unforced errors by the Thai meant that it was Sugiarto who took a 8-6 lead at the break in the second game. 

The other end of the interval saw the Indonesian, despite having a bandaged right foot, dominate proceedings further and he eventually clinched the game 15-11 to get his team off to a perfect start.

Final Scoreline- Tommy Sugiarto beat Tanongsak Saensomboonsak 15-13 15-11

2.Women’s Singles- Saina Nehwal(AW) vs P.C.Thulasi(DA)[Trump Match AW]

It was Thulasi, who took the early upper hand in the match, taking a 2-0 lead before Saina equalised the score at 2-2. But the 24-year-old once again went ahead soon later, winning three points straight to go 5-2 up and put some pressure on the World No.2.

But like the case earlier in the game, Saina fought back  once again, first levelling  the score at 5-5 and then winning three points straight to go 8-5 up at the interval mark.

Saina continued to dominate proceedings after the break as well, chipping away with the points to eventually seal the game 15-9.

The second game saw Saina carry forward the momentum, taking a 2-1 early lead, before stretching it further to 6-2 and then heading into the break with an 8-5 advantage. The other end of the break saw Thulasi make a good comeback as she clinched two straight points to reduce the deficit to one but Saina restored a sizeable lead soon enough and clinched the game 15-10 to win the ‘Trump Match’ and hand her side the lead.

Final Scoreline- Saina Nehwal beat P.C.Thulasi 15-9 15-10

3.Men’s Doubles: Cai Yun/ Bodin Issara(AW) vs Tan Boong Heong/Koon Kien Keat(DA)

Similar to the Men’s Singles tie, the doubles contest saw both pairs win 2 oof their opening 4 points but it was Yu and Issara who assumed control after that, winning 4 points straight to lead 6-2. But Heong and Keat stormed back into the contest, winning 3 points straight to reduced the deficit to one and the a few moments later, equalised the score at 7-7, before heading into the interval with an 8-7 scoreline in their favour.

The other end of the break saw a tight contest between the two pairs, but at the 12-12 mark, it was the Warriors who started to take control of proceedings, clinching three points straight to close the game 15-12.

The second game some more thrilling action but it was Yun and Issara, who continued to hold all the aces until the 5-5 mark, when the Acers pair two ur of the next three points to lead 7-6. But Yun and Issara fought back at that point to clinch two consecutive points and take an 8-7 lead at the break.

The drama continued at the other end but Yun and Issara steadily assumed control of proceedings but after some terrific rallies and lead exchanges, the second game headed into a sudden death at the 14-14 mark, Yun delivered a precise overheard serve which clinched a superb tie for the Warriors.

Final Scoreline- Cai Yun/Bodin Issara beat Tan Boog Yeong/Koon KienKeat 15-12 15-14

4.Men’s Singles- Sai Praneeth(AW) vs Rajiv Ouseph(DA)

The opening game saw Ouseph get off to a positive start, racing away to a 4-0 lead and putting early pressure on the Indian and despite the Indian reducing the deficit to two with some excellent play went into the interval with an 8-6 advantage.

The other side of the interval saw Ouseph continue to dominate proceedings even as Sai kept the deficit at check, and at the 8-10 mark, clinched two points straight to level scores at 10-10 before taking an 11-10 lead. 

But he lost the lead soon after before regaining it at the 12-12 mark and eventually clinching the game 15-12.The Indian then put in another fine performance in the second game to eventually clinch it 15-9 and give their side a 4-1 lead.

Final Scoreline-Sai Praneeth(AW) beat Rajiv Ouseph(DA) 15-12 15-9

5.Mixed Doubles- Hendra Gunawan/K Maneesha(AW) vs Akshay Dewalkar/Gabrielle Adcock(DA)[Trump Match DA]

It was Gunawan and Maneesha, who started the match positively for the Warriors taking a 5-3 lead and then stretched the lead to 8-6 at the interval.But after the break, the pai of Gunawan and Maneesha made a fine comeback,  clinching the game eventually 15-14 in a sudden death scenario.

The second game saw the Acers pair take an early lead but Gunawan and Maneesha forged their way back into the match and clinched the second game 15-13 to take the match into a decider.

However, it was in the decider that Dewalkar and Adcock brought their ‘A’ game to the contest and in a superb display, clinched the game 15-5 to win the final rubber of the day.

Final Scoreline- Akshay Dewalkar/Gabrielle Adcock(DA) beat Hendra Gunawan/KManeesha(AW) 15-14 13-15 15-5

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...