Awadhe Warriors


Full NameAwadhe Warriors


GroundBabu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium

Team Owner(s)Sahara Adventure Sports Limited

Prominent PlayersSaina Nehwal, Ashwini Ponnappa, Beiwen zhang, Lee Dong Keun, Mathias Christiansen, Rasika Raje, Son Wan Ho, Yang Lee


Awadhe Warriors is a professional badminton team representing the Indian state Lucknow. The team participates in the Premier Badminton League(PBL) held in India.

The Awadhe Warriors team is owned by Sahara Adventure Sports Limited and was founded in the year 2013 along with PBL. They also have La Martiniere Boys' College, Luckow, as their school partner. The team has Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium, as it’s home ground in Lucknow.

Awadhe Warriors are captained by iconic Indian player Saina Nehwal, the team is coached by retired Malaysian player Muhammad Hafiz Hashim.

Past Record

Awadhe Warriors have been a strong team throughout the span of three seasons of the Premier Badminton League. The Lucknow based team has were closest to win the League in it’s debut season back in 2013. However, they lost in the finals to Hyderabad HotShots with a 1 - 3 scoreline.

The 2016 season saw Awadhe Warriors finish second on the league table and qualify for the semi-finals.

In the 2017 season, Lucknow team topped the league table with 21 points. However, it was Chennai Smashers who won the finals against Mumbai Rockets, leaving the Warriors as semi-finalists.

In the 2017-18 season the Awadhe Warriors could not qualify for the semifinals for the first time and were positioned fifth on the league table.

YearPositionMatches PlayedMatches WonMatches LostTrump Matches WonTrump Matches LostTotal Points

Current Squad

NameCountryWorld RankCategory
Arjun M.r.India43Men’s Doubles
Ashwini PonnappaIndia27Women’s Doubles
Beiwen ZhangUSA10Women’s Singles
Lee Dong KeunKorea29Men’s Singles
Mathias ChristiansenDenmark5Men’s Doubles
R. M. V. GurusaiduttIndia74Men’s Singles
Rasika RajeIndia108Women’s Singles
Sanyogita GhorpadeIndia-Women’s Doubles
Son Wan HoKorea8Men’s Singles
Yang LeeTaiwan13Men’s Doubles

Click here to get the full Awadhe Warriors Match Schedule of the PBL 2018-19

Fetching more content...