BWF World Tour finals: Sameer Verma beat Tommy Sugiarto to register first win 

Image result for Sameer Verma
Pavan Suresh

Sameer Verma beat Tommy Sugiarto of Indonesia in the 2nd Group B match of the BWF World Tour Finals 2018.

After a disappointing start against Kento Momota, Sameer Verma came back strongly to beat Tommy Sugiarto of Indonesia in the 2nd match of Group B played at Guangzhou, China on Thursday. It was a commanding performance by Sameer Verma who outplayed his opponent in two straight games.

Sameer Verma had no problems of defeating Tommy Sugiarto of Indonesia in two straight games. In the first game, both players took alternate points till 4-4 and continued to fight for every point. The Indian played aggressive strokes and put the Indonesian player under pressure. At the interval, Sameer Verma led 11-7. After the interval, Tommy Sugiarto reduced the gap to 1 point at 16-17 in favour of Sameer. The Indian showed his class and won the first set 21-16.

The second game began with Tommy Sugiarto leading 3-1. Sameer Verma levelled the score at 3-3 and then continued to dominate the Indonesian player with great smashes, drop shots and attacking strokes. From 3-3, Sameer Verma took 4 successive points to lead 7-3. At the interval, Sameer Verma led 11-6. After the interval, the Indian did not allow the Indonesian player to collect many points and won the second set 21-7 to register his first win of the tournament.

The match lasted for 39 minutes and Sameer Verma showed that he belongs to the big stage. It will be a confidence booster for the Indian who will be looking to continue his form in the 3rd match. He will take on Thailand Kantaphon Wangcharoen tomorrow.

PV Sindhu will feature for India against Tai Tzu Ying in the evening. The 2 time World Championship silver medallists won her first match against Akane Yamaguchi in two straight games. It promises to be an exciting battle as Sindhu would be looking to avenge her defeat in Asian Games 2018 finals.

Follow Sportskeeda to get the BWF World Tour Finals Schedule and Results

Edited by Kishan Prasad


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...