Favorites Edit

BWF World Tour Finals 2018

12 Dec 2018 - 16 Dec 2018

The BWF World Tour Finals is an annual badminton tournament which is held at the end of every calendar year. The tournament succeeds the BWF Super Series Finals event. The tournament is contested between the players who accumulate the most points from the 37 events which comprise the BWF World Tour in that particular year.

2018 edition

The 2018 BWF World Tour Finals will be contested between 12th and 16th December 2018. Guangzhou is the host of the tournament for the first four editions of the tournament.

Prize Money

The total prize money for the 2018 BWF World Tour Finals is $1,500,000.

The singles event winners will receive $120,000 each whereas the doubles event winners will get $126,000.

Eligibility Criteria

The 27 tournaments making up the BWF World Tour is divided into five levels – Super 1000 which comprises of three tournaments, Super 750 comprising of five tournaments and Super 300 comprising of eleven tournaments. All these tournaments provide players with ranking points based on their performances with an eye towards qualification to the BWF World Tour Finals

There is another category called BWF Super 100 which also provides players with ranking points. However, although this category is not part of the BWF World Tour, it provides participants with a pathway towards the BWF World Tour Finals.

The top eight players in each category after completion of the 26 tournaments qualify for the BWF World Tour Finals. A maximum of two players or pairs will play in the same category from the same member association.

2017 BWF Super Series Finals Winners

The 2017 BWF Super Series Finals was hosted in Dubai. Viktor Axelsen of Denmark won the men’s singles title whereas Akane Yamaguchi of Japan lifted the women’s singles crown. The men’s doubles event was won by Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo of Indonesia.

The women’s doubles title was won by the Japanese pair of Shiho Tanaka and Koharu Yonemoto. Chinese pair Zheng Siwei and Chen Qingchen won the mixed doubles event.

Fetching more content...