PBL 2018: Delhi Dashers vs North Eastern Warriors match preview, schedule and live telecast information

ashwini ponnappa
Ashwini Ponnappa would look to guide the Delhi Dashers to a win
Sudeshna Banerjee

The last leg of the Premier Badminton League (PBL) 2018 kicks off with an exciting clash between the Delhi Dashers and the North Eastern Warriors at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad on Wednesday. There's not a lot to separate the two teams as both have struggled and have been pretty inconsistent this season.

Both currently have 11 points against their names and are placed one above the other in the sixth and seventh spots in the eight-team points table. Having said that, the Delhi brigade, who are also former champions, have a slightly better win-loss ratio compared to the Guwahati franchise.

The Dashers have won 9 matches and lost 7 while the debutant PBL team has bagged only 3 wins against 13 losses. It is the Trump Match in which the North Eastern Warriors have done exceptionally well in their four outings and have a flawless record so far.

On paper, Delhi are the more balanced team and should have had no problems in fetching themselves a semi-final berth. But they have failed to put in an all-round show in a couple of matches and are now languishing at the sixth place.

But this is one last opportunity for the Dashers to make amends and sneak a last-four spot. They do have some of the most revered names from the badminton world such as the World No. 6 women's singles ace Sung Ji Hyun, former All England Open men's doubles champions Vladimir Ivanov & Ivan Sozonov and Commonwealth Games winning doubles specialist Ashwini Ponnappa.

Can they rise to the occasion tonight?

Here is all the information you need to know

Tournament name: Premier Badminton League Season 3

Venue: Gachibowli Indoor Stadium, Hyderabad

Date: Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Time: Delhi Dashers vs North Eastern Warriors at 7pm IST

Channel: Star Sports 1/Star Sports 1 HD

Livestream information: Star Sports Hotstar

The squads:

Delhi Dashers - Wong Wing Ki Vincent, Tian Houwei, RMV Gurusaidutt, Sung Ji Hyun, Shreyanshi Pardeshi, Vladimir Ivanov, Ivan Sozonov, Ashwini Ponnappa, Pranaav Jerry Chopra, Arathi Sara Sunil.

North Eastern Warriors - Wang Tzu Wei, Ajay Jayaram, Pratul Joshi, Michelle Li, Ruthvika Shivani Gadde, Kim Gi Jung, Chirag Shetty, Shin Baek Cheol, Prajakta Sawant, Sanyogita Ghorpade.

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee


comments icon

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...