PV Sindhu, Sameer Verma get tough draw at BWF World Tour finals

Sindhu is one of two Indians to qualify for the BWF World Tour Finals
Sindhu is one of two Indians to qualify for the BWF World Tour Finals

The BWF World Tour Finals will be held between December 12 and 16 in Guangzhou, China. PV Sindhu and Sameer Verma are the only two Indian players that have managed to qualify for the end-of-season finale.

But both the players have been handed a very tough draw in their respective categories.

In women's singles, PV Sindhu has been placed in group A with Tai Tzu-ying, Zhang Beiwen and Akane Yamaguchi. Sindhu has struggled against two out of these three players. Against current world no. 1 Tai Tzu-ying, Sindhu has a head to head record of 3-10. The last time Sindhu managed to beat Tai Tzu was at the Rio Olympics 2016.

Beiwen Zhang from the USA has also troubled Sindhu recently. Their head to head record is tied at 3-3, but Zhang has won three out of their last four meetings.

It is never going to be easy for Sindhu against Akane Yamaguchi. Despite having an edge in their head to head record of 9-4, the current world no. 2 Akane can never be taken lightly.

Group B of women's Singles comprises Akane Yamaguchi, Ratchanok Intanon, Li Michelle and Chen Yufei.

In men's singles, Sameer Verma has been placed in Group B with Kento Momota, Tommy Sugiarto and Kantaphon Wangcharoen. The current World no. 1 Momota is the overwhelming favourite to win the title.

Sameer Verma has to give his very best to qualify from the group stage to the semi-finals, as only the top two players from each group will qualify for the semi-finals

Coincidently, Verma has a head to head record of 1-1 against each of these players. With three world tour titles this year, Verma is expected to surprise the big names in the tournament.

Group A of men's singles comprises of Chou Tien Chen, Son Wan Ho, Shi Yuqui and Anthony Ginting Sinisuka.

The BWF awards for the men's player of the year and women's player of the year will be distributed later in the evening. The Indian duo of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy have been nominated for the most improved player of the year award.

Quick Links

Edited by Nishant Jayaram
Be the first one to comment