Favorites Edit

Vidit, Kedar, Smriti to get SJAM awards

110   //    12 Oct 2017, 11:49 IST

Mumbai, Oct 12 (PTI) Indian batsman Kedar Jadhav will receive the International Cricketer of the Year award, to be given by the Sports, Journalists Association of Mumbai at a function here on October 23.

Pune-based Akash Chikte, who achieved a breakthrough by clinching a crucial place as goalkeeper in the hockey Indian senior men's team, and Nashik-based Grand Master Vidit Santosh Gujrathi, who became the fourth Indian chess player to cross the 2,700 ELO rating points, are the joint winners of the SJAM Sportsman of the Year award 2017, a media release issued here said today.

The awards, supported by Star Sports, will be presented at the Bombay Gymkhana.

Chikte (25) was part of the Indian team that won the Asian Champions Trophy last year in Malaysia, and Gujrathi (22) demonstrated his high quality talent by crossing the 2700 ELO points rating while representing Team Solvay in the Spanish Team Championship League in Linares recently.

Gujarathi is the fourth Indian -- after Viswanathan Anand, Pentala Harikrishna and Krishnan Sasikiran -- to achieve the creditable ELO rating that reflects the skill levels of a chess player, the release said.

Mumbai's Aditi Dhumatkar has been chosen for the Sportswoman of the Year award.

She had won the 50 and 100m free style gold medals at the 70th Glenmark Senior National Aquatic Championship at Ranchi last year and also the 200m freestyle silver medal.

Pune's Abhimanyu Puranik, who became India's 49th Grand Master, was chosen for the Junior Sportsman of the Year award, and Mumbai's Rayna Saldhana (swimming) and Diya Chitale (Table Tennis), for the Junior Sportswoman of the Year award.

Prashant More has been chosen for the Sportsman of the Year award (Indian Games). He won the men's singles title at the World Carrom Championship at Birmingham in 2016.

Kedar Jadhav, who showed the wherewithal to hold his own in ODIs for India in the August 2016-July 2017 award consideration period, was chosen for the International Cricketer of the Year award.

Mumbai's veteran allrounder Abhishek Nayar was chosen for the Ranji Trophy Cricketer of the Year award, while young Mumbai batsman Prithvi Shaw, will receive the Junior Cricketer of the Year award.

Indian batswoman Smriti Mandhana will get the Woman Cricketer of the Year award.

Besides, Indian Premier League (IPL) season 10 winner, Mumbai Indians (MI), will be awarded as the Team of the Year and Mumbai City FC, for putting up a special team performance.

MI won the IPL title for the third time and Mumbai FC City topped last year's Indian Super League with 23 points, the release said.

The SJAM Golden Jubilee Annual Awards 2017 list is as follows:

Sportsman of the Year: Vidit Santosh Gujrathi (chess, Nashik) and Akash Chikte (goalkeeper, Pune: Indian Men's hockey team)

Sportswoman of the Year: Aditi Dhumatkar (swimming, Mumbai)

Junior Sportsman of the Year: Abhimanyu Puranik (chess, Pune)

Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Rayna Saldhana (swimming, Mumbai) and Diya Chitale (table tennis, Mumbai)

Sportsman of the Year (Indian Games): Prashant More (aarrom, Mumbai)

Cricketer of the Year: Kedar Jadhav (Pune)

Ranji Trophy Cricketer of the Year: Abhishek Nayar (Mumbai)

Woman Cricketer of the Year: (Smriti Mandhana, Sangli)

Junior Cricketer of the Year: Prithvi Shaw (Mumbai)

Best Team of the Year: Mumbai Indians

Special Team performance of the Year: Mumbai City FC

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...