Favorites Edit

2017-18 Ranji Trophy- round 2, day 2: Ravindra Jadeja sends a message to the selectors; Ishant Sharma on fire

4.83K   //    15 Oct 2017, 17:53 IST

Are you watching, selectors?
Are you watching, selectors?

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja's double century for Saurashtra against Jammu and Kashmir in Rajkot, along with 150s from Madhya Pradesh wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha against the 41-time champions Mumbai in Indore and Tamil Nadu's Washington Sundar against Tripura in Chennai make the headlines in the day 2 round-up of the 2017-18 second round matches.

Starting from an overnight score of 150, Jadeja wasted no time as he reached the double-figure mark quickly before he was eventually out for 201. Thanks to his knock and a 156-ball 181 from Sheldon Jackson, Saurashtra managed to post 624/7 in the first innings to which, the visitors were reeling at 103/4 when the day came to an end. 

After bundling out Tripura for 258 in the first innings, Tamil Nadu batsmen came out all guns blazing as they ended day 2 at 332/2, with a first-innings lead of 74 runs. In the absence of Murali Vijay, Washington Sundar was asked to open the innings and the teenager did a fantastic job as he remained unbeaten on 156 off 223 balls with 14 fours and one six. Abhinav Mukund scored 76 while Baba Inderjith remained unbeaten on 73. Indian off-spinner took two wickets for 64 runs in the Tripura innings.

Ishant Sharma's fiery spell of 3/12 in 11 overs reduce Railways to 58/5 in reply to Delhi's 447 in the first innings. Bengal's Mohammad Shami took two wickets for 33 runs while his teammate Wriddhiman Saha got out for 27.

Here is what happened on day two of the second round.

Delhi: Railways 58/5 (Shivkant Shukla 29, Ishant Sharma 3/12, Manan Sharma 2/18) trail Delhi 447 (Manan Sharma 136, Nitish Rana 89, Anureet Singh 3/92) by 389 runs. 

Indore: Mumbai 130/1 (Jay Bista 89*) trail Madhya Pradesh 409 (Naman Ojha 180, Ankit Sharma 67, Akash Palkar 4/70) by 279 runs.  

Rajkot: Jammu and Kashmir 103/4 (Shubham Khajuria 41, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 3/36, Ravindra Jadeja 1/20) trail Saurashtra 624/7 decl. (Ravindra Jadeja 201, Sheldon Jackson 181, Snell Patel 94) by 521 runs.

Chennai: Tamil Nadu 332/2 (Washington Sundar 156*, Abhinav Mukund 76, B Inderjith 73) lead Tripura 258 (Smit Patel 99, Yashpal Sharma 96, Krishnamoorthy Vignesh 4/41, Washington Sundar 2/40, R Ashwin 2/64) by 74 runs.


Raipur: Chhattisgarh 80/5 (Ashutosh Singh 51*, Mohammad Shami 2/33, Ashok Dinda 2/6) trail Bengal 529/7 decl. (Koushik Biplab Ghosh 114, Sudip Chatterjee 118, SA Singh 4/162) by 449 runs.

Baroda: Andhra 190/2 (Hanuma Vihari 71*, Ricky Bhui 53*) trail Baroda 373 (Swapnil Singh 88, Atit Sheth 70*, Ayyappa Bandaru 4/69) by 183 runs.

Dharamsala: Himachal Pradesh 356/4 (Ankush Bains 143, PS Khanduri 117) lead Goa 255 by 101 runs.

Mohali: Vidarbha 419/5 (SR Ramaswamy 161, Ganesh Satish 126*, Abhishek Sharma 2/110) lead Punjab 161 by 258 runs.

Nadiad: Gujarat 307/9 (Chirag Gandhi 91*, Samit Gohil 69, MD Nidheesh 3/58) lead Kerala 208 by 99 runs.

Mysore: Karnataka 427/6 (K Gowtham 147*, R Samarth 123) lead Assam 145 by 282 runs. 

Jaipur: Jharkhand 97/2 (Saurabh Tiwary 56*) trail Rajasthan 423 (TN Dhillon 134, AV Gautam 107, Sunny Gupta 3/76) by 326 runs.

Hyderabad: Day 2 between Hyderabad and Uttar Pradesh washed out.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...