Favorites Edit

2018 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Suresh Raina fails again, Uthappa smashes fifty

Aadya Sharma
4.93K   //    10 Jan 2018, 17:52 IST

Raina could manage only a solitary run

It was a mixed day for Team India discards in the domestic zonal T20 competition today: while Robin Uthappa's whirlwind knock helped Saurashtra trump Mumbai, Gautam Gambhir scored a scratchy 19, Suresh Raina was dismissed for a solitary run, and Yuvraj Singh chipped in with a 35-ball 35.

In the West Zone game at Rajkot, Saurashtra steamrolled Mumbai by eight wickets.

Apart from captain Aditya Tare and Siddesh Lad, none of the batsmen could hold their own against medium-pacer Shaurya Sanandia, who picked up four wickets and was assisted by left-arm spinner Dharmendrasinhji Jadeja, who captured two.

In reply, Robin Uthappa was at his vintage best, creaming the bowlers for a 36-ball 52 before Shardul Thakur got the better of him. The knock was enough to overtake the target with 16 balls to spare.

Kedar Devdhar was the hero for Baroda in their West Zone clash, helping them go to the top of the table by whipping Gujarat by 36 runs. The 61-ball century helped Baroda get out of deep trouble, after reeling at 25-4 under the wily bowling of Piyush Chawla and pacer Jayweer Parmar.

In reply, Chirag Gandhi's fifty, and Axar Patel's quickfire 17-ball 33 was only enough to take Gujarat to 139 with Rishi Arothe being the pick of the bowlers with three wickets to his name.

In the North Zone game between Delhi and Haryana, the big names failed to fire. Gautam Gambhir, opening with Rishabh Pant, got out after a scratchy 20-ball 19. Pant himself was bowled for nine. It was Nitish Rana, whose 26-ball 39 along with Dhruv Shorey's 59, that helped the side go past Haryana's 153, built primarily on Chaitanya Bishnoi's 65.

Suresh Raina was at the center-stage of UP's collapse in their Central Zone game, scoring just a solitary run, as Uttar Pradesh could manage only 108 in their 20 overs, eventually losing out to Madhya Pradesh by seven wickets.

Brief scores:

North Zone:

Services 140-9 in 20 overs (A Pachhara 37, MS Grewal 4-18) lost to Punjab 141-2 (Mandeep Singh 84, Yuvraj Singh 35, DG Pathania 2-17) by 8 wickets.

Haryana 153-6 in 20 overs (CK Bishnoi 65, SG Rohilla 44, S Bhati 3-25) lost to Delhi 154-3 in 17 overs (D Shorey 59, Nitish Rana 39, AH Hooda 1-16) by 7 wickets.

Central Zone:

Chattisgarh 175-5 in 20 overs (AN Khare 90, Amit Mishra 2-30) beat Railways 150-8 (Mahesh Rawat 61, SJ Ahmed 3-27) by 25 runs.

Uttar Pradesh 108-7 in 20 overs (Sarfraz Khan 20, Ankit Sharma 2-22) lost to Madhya Pradesh 110-3 in 17 overs (Rajat Patidar 51, Praveen Kumar 1-6) by 7 wickets.

East Zone:

Jharkhand 163-6 in 20 overs (Virat Singh 43, Ishank Jaggi 33, Gurinder Singh 3-21) beat Tripura 139-9 in 20 overs (SK Patel 49, UU Bose 29, S Nadeem 2-18) by 24 runs.

Odisha 128-9 in 20 overs (D Samantray 25, Abu Nechim 2-13) beat Assam 77 in 17.2 overs (Risav Das 26, Prayas Singh 3-6) by 51 runs.

West Zone:

Mumbai 130 in 19.3 overs (Aditya Tare 39, Siddesh Lad 38, S Sanandia 4-22) lost to Saurashtra 133-2 in 17.2 overs (Robin Uthappa 52, KM Parmar 35, Shardul Thakur 2-23) by 8 wickets.

Baroda 175-7 in 20 overs (Kedar Devdhar 100, Piyush Chawla 3-45) beat Gujarat 139 in 18 overs (Chirag Gandhi 52, Rishi Arothe 3-26) by 36 runs.

Topics you might be interested in:
Aadya Sharma
Fetching more content...