5 Bizarre Cricket rules you didn't know about
#3 Wait, what? Is it true?
Earlier in this article, you've read about what happens if the ball strikes something in the air. Now, what if the ball strikes something that is on the ground? Ever thought about it? No? Okay, let's take a look at another less known rule.
If a shot hits the keeper's helmet, water bottle, or any other fielder's equipment kept on the ground regardless of the velocity of the moving ball, the batting team would be awarded with a bonus of 5 runs.
Let's have a look at one such incident when the ball hits the keeper's helmet kept on the ground: