⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Asia Cup 2016: India vs Pakistan - Live streaming, team news, squads, date, time

Modified 20 Dec 2019, 06:35 IST
India vs Pakistan - Live streaming
The two teams played against each other during the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia

India and Pakistan will face off in the fourth match of Asia Cup 2016 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur in Dhaka on Wednesday. The format of the tournament has been changed to 20 overs from 50 for the first time in the history; the past 12 editions were 50-over contests.

Also read: Asia Cup 2016: India vs UAE -Live streaming, team news, squads, date, match timings

Download app for India Vs Pakistan Live Score

After beating the hosts Bangladesh in the inaugural match of the tournament, India are quite aware of the conditions in Mirpur and will hold an edge over Pakistan, who will be playing their first match of the Asia Cup.

It is always more than just a cricket match whenever these two teams play each other; the political history of partition has repeatedly cast a pall over India-Pakistan cricket. It won’t be difficult to fill the stadium as the crowd awaits cricket’s biggest rivalry with bated breath.

Also read: ICC T20 World Cup Group stage: Kolkata to replace Dharamsala for India-Pakistan match

India vs Pakistan 2016 LIVE streaming details

TV Channel: Star Sports 1, HD1 (English) and 3, HD3 (Hindi)

Online Stream:

Date: 27 February 2016, Saturday


Time: 07:00 PM IST, 07:30 PM local, 01:30 PM GMT

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka

For live scores and updates, visit Sportskeeda’s live card.

Team News


MS Dhoni-led India will go into the match as the favourites considering their recent form in the shorter format. Rohit Sharma is in form as he fired in the first match against Bangladesh and scored a 55-ball 83. The Indian team’s playing XI will likely not see any changes because Dhoni won’t want to break the rhythm.


India have won their last two T20I series, on the other hand, Pakistan have lost their last two T20I series – against England and New Zealand by 3-0 and 2-1 margins respectively. In the aftermath of those setbacks, Ahmed Shehzad was removed from the Asia Cup and World T20 team.

All the national team’s players were part of the inaugural season of Pakistan Super League, which was played in UAE. 

Also Read: India vs Pakistan Record in Asia Cup Matches

India vs Pakistan teams (Predicted Squad)

India XI

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (c, wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah.

Pakistan XI

Khurram Manzoor, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed(wk), Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi(c), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan

Pitch & conditions

The pitch at Mirpur, as seen recently in the ICC U-19 World Cup and Asia Cup qualifiers, will assist fast bowlers early on. Batting is expected to be easier later in the innings. Hence, the teams will be hoping to not lose many wickets up front.

There is a good chance that the game might be affected by rain with the temperature expected to be around 24°C. 

Recent Form

India: W-L-W-W-W

Pakistan: L-L-W-L-L

Key Stats

  • India have won 6 out of their last 7 T20I matches.
  • India have won 5 T20I matches out of 6 that they have played against Pakistan.
  • Ravichandran Ashwin holds the best bowling figures (4 for 11) record at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.
  • Mohammad Amir played in the last edition of Bangladesh Premier League for Chittagong Vikings and was one of the leading wicket-takers of the tournament, with 14 from 9 matches.
Published 25 Feb 2016, 17:15 IST
Fetching more content...