Favorites Edit

Australian squad announced for remaining ODIs and T20 series

Haradhan Gour
29.03K   //    18 Jan 2016, 09:35 IST
Shaun Tait returns to the Australia side after a gap of almost five years

A 17-man Australia squad has been named for the T20 series against India later this month, with several of this year’s Big Bash League stars finding their way into the national team on strength of their domestic showings. David Warner and Nathan Lyon have been picked in the ODI squad for the last two 50-over encounters as well.

Shaun Tait is the most notable new face in the T20 squad, having last played for his country in the 2011 World Cup. The 32-year-old has been thundering at 145 kmph for the Hobart Hurricanes this year, taking 10 wickets in 8 matches. Andrew Tye is the other fast bowler to have been given a call-up.

Shane Watson and Nathan Lyon also will be relieved they are in the frame, and they have a chance of featuring in the World T20.

Other new faces in the side are Chris Lynn and Travis Head, the two highest run scorers in the BBL season.

However, there is no place in the T20 side for the man in form George Bailey, or for all-rounder Mitchell Marsh. 

Tait is quickest Australian bowler: Marsh

National Selector Rod Marsh said: "Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it."

"Shane Watson has earned his recall to Australian colours through a combination of his experience – especially in short-form cricket – the all-round package he offers and the fact he is bang in form at the moment, having put performances on the board for the Sydney Thunder," said Marsh.

Lyon, who has played 52 Tests, will be looking to make his T20 debut. "Our choice of Nathan Lyon comes off the back of good form in the KFC BBL and we decided the time is right to have another look at him in the shorter forms of the game," said Marsh. Lyon will be the second spinner in Australian ranks, alongside Cameron Boyce.

One-day squad:

Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Matthew Wade.

T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait.

Topics you might be interested in:
Haradhan Gour
Fetching more content...