Favorites Edit

Bangladesh Tour of New Zealand 2019: Complete squads and list of players

Kovvali Teja
5.90K   //    Timeless

New Zealand
New Zealand

Bangladesh would certainly have their task cut out when they take on a strong New Zealand outfit in the upcoming tour. Set to be flagged off on 13 February with the first ODI at Napier, the tour will be comprising 3 ODIs and 3 Tests.

While the subsequent ODIs will be played at Christchurch and Dunedin respectively, the Tests will be hosted by Hamilton, Wellington and Christchurch.

The series assumes much significance given the preparatory relevance it holds for both the teams ahead of this year's World Cup.

While New Zealand, despite the recent ODI series loss to India, will be looking to stay in the mix of things for the mega tournament, Bangladesh too, will be determined to leave no stone unturned in their build-up to May.

Here's the complete list of the squads that have been announced for the upcoming tour:

Bangladesh ODI Squad:

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shafiul Islam, Nayeem Hasan.

Bangladesh Test Squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque, Shadman Islam, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed, Khaled Ahmed, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain


New Zealand ODI Squad (for first 2 ODIs):

Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Todd Astle, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, James Neesham, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee.

New Zealand ODI Squad (for 3rd ODI):

Tom Latham (C), Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Mitchell Santner.

It may be noted that the visitors were pipped by New Zealand XI in a one-day practice match played on 10 February. Senior players Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rahman stood among the runs as Bangladesh managed to put on 247 on the board batting first.

Chasing the target, New Zealand XI were helped by a superb knock by Andrew Fletcher to defeat the men in green by 2 wickets.