Favorites Edit

Border-Gavaskar Trophy: 3rd Test - Statistical highlights

Nishit Nakar
4.94K   //    18 Mar 2013, 18:40 IST

Cheteshwar Pujara averages 61.52 currently, third in the all-time list with minimum 1000 Test runs.

Here are some of the statistical highlights of the third Test match at Mohali in the ongoing series for Border-Gavaskar trophy, where India has taken an unassailable 3-0 lead in the four-match series.

1. It’s the first time India has won 3 Tests in a single series against Australia.

2. This was Australia’s 6th loss in a row in India (starting from Nagpur in 2008) and their 8th loss in their last 10 Tests in India (from Mumbai 2004).

3. Also, the 6 defeats in a row in India equal Australia’s worst sequence in an away country. The last time they lost 6 in a row was in South Africa from 1967 to 1994.

4. This is India’s only 2nd Test win after the 1st day was washed out (India beat NZ by 216 runs at Chennai in Nov-Dec, 1976).

5. Australia have lost the first three Tests of a series for the first time since the home series against West Indies in 1988-89. They have been whitewashed in a series of three or more matches only twice – against South Africa in 1969-70 and Pakistan in 1982-83.

6. Highest Test batting average (minimum 1000 runs): Bradman 99.94, SG Barnes 63.06, C Pujara 61.52, G Pollock 60.97, G Headley 60.83, H Sutcliffe 60.73.

7. Captains with most Test wins versus Australia: Clive Lloyd 12, Mike Brearley 11, WG Grace 8 and MS Dhoni 7.

8. Mitchell Starc (99) made his highest score in first-class cricket, surpassing his 68* against South Africa at Perth in November 2012. Starc is the first batsman to make a score of 99 in Test cricket at No.9.


9. The opening partnership of 289 runs between Murali Vijay-Sikhar Dhawan is India’s third-highest for the first wicket against any country. The top two partnerships are – the 413-run stand between Vinoo Mankad and Pankaj Roy against New Zealand at Chennai in 1955-56, and the 410-run stand between Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid against Pakistan at Lahore in 2005-06.

10. Michael Clarke has been dismissed five times by Ravindra Jadeja in last six innings that the Australian skipper has played.

Topics you might be interested in:
Nishit Nakar
Fetching more content...