BPL 2016: Miserly Mohammad Shahid bowls Dhaka dynamites to the top of the table

Barisal Bulls
(Image Courtesy: bdcricteam)

Fast bowler Mohammad Shahid, who played the last of his 5 Tests for Bangladesh in August 2015, produced a brilliant spell of fast bowling in the death overs to clinch a 19 run win for his team, the Dhaka Dynamites. The Dynamites beat the Chittagong Vikings at the Zahur Ahmed Choudhary Stadium in Chittagong today in match 14 of the BPL.

Bowling first after winning the toss, the Vikings bowlers didn’t get the team off to a great start as the Dynamites raced to 72 for 1 off just 9 overs. Nasir Hossain and the Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara were looking well set to take them to a big score before the England left-arm speedster Tymal Mills dismissed both of them in the 10th over to derail their progress.

The innings could never come back on track from then on and despite a 26-ball 35 from Mosaddak Hossain, the Dynamites could only manage 148 for 9 off their 20 overs, with Mills and the Afghanistan off-spinner Mohammad Nabi picking up 3 wickets each.

The Vikings began their chase with a stutter as opener Jahurul Islam ran himself out in the 3rd over with the score at just 13. Despite the presence of star batsman Tamim Iqbal at the crease till the 12th over, they could never pick up any momentum throughout the innings as the required run rate kept climbing up.

Needing 61 off the last 5 overs with 6 wickets in hand, the Vikings ran into a red-hot Mohammad Shahid who bowled three of these five overs for just 21 to take the wind out of the run chase, eventually winning it for his side by a comfortable margin.

This win took the Dhaka Dynamites to the top of the table with 8 points from 5 matches, and Shahid, for his decisive spell, was named the man of the match.

Brief Scores: Dhaka Dynamites - 148/9 (Mosaddak Hossain 35, Mehedi Maruf 33, Mohammad Nabi 3 for 18, Tymal Mills 3 for 25); Chittagong Vikings - 129/8 (Tamim Iqbal 26, Mahmudul Hasan 20, Mohammad Shahid 3 for 23, Matt Coles 1 for 23)

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 19 runs.

Mithun, Sohag Gazi lead Rangpur Riders to 12 run win

A quick-fire innings of 62 off just 44 balls by Mohammad Mithun backed up by an excellent spell of off-spin bowling by Sohag Gazi led Rangpur Riders to a tense 12 run win over the Barisal Bulls in match 15 of the BPL at the Zahur Ahmed Choudhary Stadium in Chittagong.

Having been put into bat after losing the toss, the Rangpur Riders got off to a decent start of 46 in just 5 overs, but lost their openers Soumya Sarkar and Mohammad Shahzad in the process. Top scorer Mithun and England all-rounder Liam Dawson, who scored 46, then got together to string a valuable 78-run partnership in less than 10 overs to lay the foundation of a big total for the Riders.

A trademark cameo of 22 towards the end from Shahid Afridi took the score to a respectable 175 for 6 in the 20 overs.

In reply, the Barisal Bulls innings got off to the worst possible start, with Sri Lankan opener Dilshan Munaweera getting out to the very first ball. Two more quick wickets followed and the score was 48 for 3 after 7 overs.

With the Bulls firmly on the back foot, Sri Lankan all-rounder Jeevan Mendis and Nadif Choudhary strung together a 74-run partnership in just 8 overs, with Mendis scoring a composed half-century, to bring their team back in the run chase, but Shahid Afridi dismissed them in successive overs to put the brakes on the scoring rate.

With 29 to win off the last 2 overs, Thisara Perera and West Indian Rayad Emrit tried their best to steal victory from the jaws of defeat, but the task proved to be too tough against some accurate bowling by Rubel Hussain and Sohag Gazi.

An action packed last 10 deliveries of the chase saw 2 sixes and 5 wickets, and in the end, the Rangpur Riders managed to squeeze home by 12 runs. Mohammad Mithun, for his knock of 62, was adjudged man of the match.

Brief Scores: Rangpur Riders - 175/6 (Mohammad Mithun 62, Liam Dawson 46, Taijul Islam 2 for 27, Thisara Perera 2 for 31); Barisal Bulls - 163 all out (Jeevan Mendis 57, Nadif Choudhary 41, Sohag Gazi 3 for 19, Shahid Afridi 2 for 31)

Result: Rangpur Riders won by 12 runs.

Looking for fast live cricket scores? Download CricRocket and get fast score updates, top-notch commentary in-depth match stats & much more! 🚀☄️

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
App download animated image Get the free App now