Favorites Edit

Bulls wear a formidable look!

Press Release
547   //    05 Aug 2015, 18:00 IST
Mr Kiran Kattimani CIO Bijapur Bulls launches the  new team jersey along with Mr Brijesh Patel

Bangalore: In a colourful function at the JW Mariott, which had a good sprinkling of former players, administrators and current players, Hon Secy of the Karnataka State Cricket Association, Brijesh Patel launched the Karbonn Smart KL season IV Jersey of Bijapur Bulls on Tuesday night.

“I wish Bijapur Bulls the very best in the KPL 2015 season and I hope the boys make the most of the seven (Least) matches they get to play and use the tournament as a platform with the T20 World Cup around the corner”, said Brijesh after releasing the ‘New Look’ Jersey.

Another former great, Indian ace off-spinner E.A.S Prasanna after appreciating the invite for the evening said, “I have not been involved with any of the Premier Leagues, but the youngsters of today should grab the opportunities that come their way and make the most of it. The boys look energetic and keen to prove themselves and I hope they give their best and do well in the KPL”.

Sporting a new look and boasting  a good mix of experience and youth, Bijapur Bulls should be the team to watch when the Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League gets off from September 2 to 19.

An opening batsman and a new ball bowler who have donned India colours, Robin Uthappa and Abhimanyu Mithun have it in them to guide the team through thick and thin.

Add Ravikumar Samarth, a top order bat, who scored a ton in the ongoing Dr Thimapaiaha All India Tournament on Tuesday plus has a 180 against Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy early this year and K.C Cariappa, little known until bought for a whopping 2.4 crores by IPL franchisee KKR to the pot and opponents are bound to be daunted.

The Bulls’ list goes on… Akhil Balachander, K.P Appanna, Suneel Raju, Rajoo Bhatkal and C Raghavendra have all represented the State while youngsters Vyshak Vijay, a quality allrounder and Nidesh M, bought for 3.15 lakhs from Pool ‘B’ at the auction can hold their own amongst the elite.

A part of the KPL, since the inception of the Premier Tournament in 2009 Bijapur Bulls have their best opportunity to clinch the crown if the players in their ranks play to their respective potential.

Uthappa’s prowess at the top is well known as is Mithun’s achievements with the cherry. At last year’s KPL, Cariappa forced people to take notice of his leg spinning ability bagging 11 wickets from six outings with hauls of four for and three for in two games, forcing the Bulls team management to retain him rather than having to shell out more at the auction.

“The KPL is a good tournament. Preparations are going on as usual. I'm looking forward to this
tournament. It's good to have a lot of T20 games, especially with the T20 World Cup coming up. There's no such thing as playing too many games. It's always good to be playing. I'm happy to be a part of this side. We've got a good side and hopefully we can play to our potential and win this tournament. We look forward to every game, ” said the big hitting Robin Uthappa.

“I was under the impression that a lot of people didn't know whether I would be playing or not. I think it came as a surprise and unsettled a lot of plans. The money doesn't really matter to me. Just the experience of playing with these boys and playing T20 cricket right now is something I'm looking forward to”, added Robin of himself in the league.

Akhil, Appanna, Suneel Raju and Raghavendra are players who can put their hands up to be counted and their experience playing for the State should serve the Bulls well.

Bijapur Bulls Team: Robin Uthappa, Abhimanyu Mithun, K.C. Cariappa, R Samarth, Akhil Balachander, Raghavendra C, K P Apanna, Vyshak V, Aditya Somanna, Rajoo Bhatkal, Suneel Raju, Sharat B R, Deepak Chougle, Nidesh M, Ritesh Bhatkal.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...