Favorites Edit

ICC Cricket Awards 2018: Men's ODI team of the year announced

Rajdeep Puri
2.17K   //    22 Jan 2019, 11:23 IST

Virat Kohli has been named the captain of the star-studded lineup
Virat Kohli has been named the captain of the star-studded lineup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards for 2018 are being handed out right now. Cricket's governing body has just announced the ODI team of the year.

The awards took into consideration the performances of the players in 2018 and the team was selected by a panel which consists of former players, members of the media, and match officials.

2018 was a year which saw some memorable performances by players from all teams. There was no major ODI tournament which took place but teams began their preparation for the ICC World Cup, which is to take place later this year in England.

India's Rohit Sharma and Englishman Jonny Bairstow were named the openers of the side. While Rohit finished the year as the second highest run-getter, Bairstow was third on the list.

Team India's captain Virat Kohli was named the captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year as well. Kohli had a great year once again as he finished the year as the top run-getter, with three centuries to his name, including a 160 run knock against South Africa.

The middle order of the team consists of England captain Joe Root, New Zealand middle-order veteran Ross Taylor, and Englishmen Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes, with Buttler being named the wicketkeeper.

The bowlers of the side consist of Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman, Afghanistan's Rashid Khan, and India's Kuldeep Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah. Rashid Khan ended the year as the leading wicket-taker with 48 wickets to his name while Kuldeep Yadav was second on the list with 45 wickets to his name.

There are no players from Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, or Sri Lanka in the side.

ICC Men's ODI Team of 2018: Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India) (C), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England) (WK), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India) and Jasprit Bumrah (India)