Create
Notifications

ICC strips the use of runners in international cricket

Gautham Sethuraman

In his wonderfully compiled double century, Tendulkar never sought a runner to make his job easier

On what can be called as a rule-changing evening, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to strip the use of runners from international cricket. The decision was taking by the ICC Chief Committee in the meeting held at Hong Kong today. There were also several other proposals including introducing new balls from both ends in 50-over game and regulations of when the batting and bowling powerplay must be opted.

β€œEven though the success of 50-over cricket played during the World Cup 2011 was universally acknowledged, the CEC rightly supported the enhancements recommended by the ICC Cricket Committee to strengthen the format further, including encouraging Members to trial some specific innovations in their domestic cricket,” Haroon Lorgat, the ICC chief said backing the suggestions made today.

The use of runners has always posed as a controversy especially when the batsmen never picked any injury and still choose to have one. Even more so, when the opposition captain is not interested in allowing a runner.

One of the major tournament which had the use of new balls from both ends is the World Cup 1992. From then on, for secret reasons of their own, they chose to snub the option. By reinforcing the decision, it meant that the ICC has been scrupulous in the white ball wearing out in course of time.

There were also suggestions about the batting and bowling powerplays being available only between overs 16-40 in an attempt to make the one-day cricket’s stereotyped middle-overs more interesting.

These, of course, were suggestions and if amended will come into use from October 1 of this year.


Edited by Staff Editor

Comments

Fetching more content...