Favorites Edit

India beat Ireland, secure top group spot

1.82K   //    10 Mar 2015, 15:28 IST
The Indian bowlers did well to restrict Ireland to 259 after they made a good start

Hamilton, March 10 (IANS) Guided by Shikhar Dhawan's dominating century, India's smooth eight-wicket victory over Ireland here on Tuesday ensured that the defending World Champions will finish at the top of Pool B. India, who had already qualified for the quarter-finals earlier, will now play the fourth-placed Pool A team in the last eight, which is likely to be Bangladesh.

With the victory, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni also achieved unique distinction of winning nine Cup matches on the trot, equalling the great Clive Lloyd of the West Indies. Only Australia's Ricky Ponting, with 24 wins, is ahead of them.

Despite a brilliant start, Ireland were befuddled by spinners as some clever tactics from Dhoni helped India bowl out the Associate Member team for 259 at the Seddon Park.

In reply, India had no problem chasing down the target as Dhawan scored his second hundred of the tournament, in only 84 balls, to guide the Asian team to its ninth consecutive Cup win with 13.1 overs to spare.

Openers Rohit Sharma (64) and Dhawan exploited the inexperienced Irish bowlers to strike India's highest World Cup opening stand of 174 runs to more or less settle the matter for their side.

The partnership completely took away the game from the Irish. While Rohit hit three boundaries and sixes each in his knock, Dhawan exemplified his form by stroking 11 boundaries and five sixes in his 85-ball 100.

Vice-captain Virat Kohli (44 not out) and middle-order bat Ajinkya Rahane (33 not out) hardly broke a sweat to combine for an unbeaten 70-run third-wicket stand, helping India to their third successive victory over Ireland in as many meetings.

Earlier, it was a mixed sort of innings from Ireland who got off to a blazing start via openers William Porterfield (67) and Paul Stirling (42). However, they stuttered against spinners and from what seemed as a likely 300-plus total at one point, Ireland collapsed to being all out in the 49th over.

This is the first time ever that India have bowled out their opposition in five consecutive matches.

Electing to bat, captain Porterfield and Stirling looked in good touch as they hammered Indian pacers all over the small ground. The confident start from Ireland made Dhoni bring in third pacer Mohit Sharma (1/38) in only the fifth over.

Despite the change, Ireland still scored quite easily off the pacers, who looked impeccable in the previous four matches of the tournament. However, the Irish duo seemed to handle pace very well.

Dhoni, understanding this, brought in spinners Ravindra Jadeja (1/45) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2/38) in the ninth over onwards. The change took some time but finally yielded success in the 15th over, bringing an end to the opening-wicket partnership of 89.

Realising that the minnows were struggling against slower bowlers, Dhoni brought in part-time spinner Suresh Raina (1/40) and it immediately yielded success. Just three runs after the fall of the first wicket, Ed Joyce, who scored a sensational century against Zimbabwe in their last match, was bowled by Raina.

Seeing the ball turn and the Irish struggle against spin, the Indian skipper bowled Ashwin and Raina in tandem and the duo slowed down the run rate, which was run-a-ball till the 15th over.

The quality of the Ireland batting order showed when Niall O'Brien (75) struck two important partnerships. First, Porterfield and Niall struck a 53-run stand before Mohit broke the partnership. Next up, Niall and Andy Balbirnie (24) scored 61 for the fourth wicket to take Ireland past the 200-run mark.

Batting at 206/3 in the 39th over, Ireland looked set for a 300-plus score. But Ashwin once again came to the rescue as he broke the stand in his 10th over which proved to be the catalyst in Ireland's collapse. From 206/3, India clinched six quick wickets to make Ireland totter at 238/9 before the last pair added 21.

Ashwin and Raina's three wickets together in 20 overs for 78 runs and Dhoni's acumen proved to be the difference. Shami also pitched in with 3/41 from his nine overs.



William Porterfield c Yadav b Mohit Sharma 67

Paul Stirling c Rahane b Ashwin 42

Ed Joyce b Raina 2

Niall O’Brien c Yadav b Mohammed Shami 75

Andy Balbirnie c Mohammed Shami b Ashwin 24

Kevin O’Brien c Dhoni b Mohammed Shami 1

Gary Wilson c Rahane b Jadeja 6

Stuart Thompson run out (Kohli) 2

John Mooney not out 12

George Dockrell c Dhoni b Yadav 6

Alex Cusack c Yadav b Mohammed Shami 11

Extras (lb 2, w 9) 11

Total (all out in 49 overs) 259

Fall of wickets: 1-89 (Stirling, 14.6 overs), 2-92 (Joyce, 17.2), 3-145 (Porterfield, 31.2), 4-206 (Balbirnie, 38.6), 5-208 (Kevin O’Brien, 39.3), 6-222 (Wilson, 41.2), 7-226 (Niall O’Brien, 42.1), 8-227 (Thompson, 42.3), 9-238 (Dockrell, 45.3), 10-259 (Cusack, 48.6)


Umesh Yadav 4-0-34-1

Mohammed Shami 9-0-41-3

Mohit Sharma 6-0-38-1

Ravindra Jadeja 7-0-45-1

Ravichandran Ashwin 10-1-38-2

Suresh Raina 10-0-40-1

Rohit Sharma 3-0-21-0


Rohit Sharma b Thompson 64

Shikhar Dhawan c Porterfield b Thompson 100

Virat Kohli not out 44

Ajinkya Rahane not out 33

Extras (b 4, lb 2, w 13) 19

Total (two wickets in 36.5 overs) 260

Fall of wickets: 1-174 (Rohit Sharma, 23.2 overs), 2-190 (Dhawan, 27.4)


John Mooney 6-0-44-0

Alex Cusack 8-0-43-0

Stuart Thompson 6-0-45-2

George Dockrell 5-0-44-0

Paul Stirling 5-0-36-0

Kevin O’Brien 6.5-0-42-0

Match details:

Toss: Ireland chose to bat

Man-of-the-match: Shikhar Dhawan

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Richard Kettleborough (England)

TV umpire: Johan Cloete (South Africa)

Match referee: Chris Broad (England)

Reserve umpire: Nigel Llong (England)

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...