Favorites Edit

India's squad for Bangladesh ODI series announced; Suresh Raina named captain

70.40K   //    28 May 2014, 17:11 IST
Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa

In the absence of captain MS Dhoni and vice-captain Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina has been named as the captain of the Indian team for the three-match ODI series in Bangladesh next month.

Only five players from the Asia Cup squad find themselves in this team. 

Interestingly, Raina was dropped from the Asia Cup squad but now makes a comeback as a captain for this series.

Robin Uthappa, the Orange Cap holder in the current season of the IPL, has made a comeback into the Indian team after a gap of two years. The last time he turned out for India was in a one-off T20I against South Africa.

Kedar Jadhav and Akshar Patel get their first call-up to the Indian team after very impressive performances in the Indian domestic circuit. 

Squad: Suresh Raina (captain), Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Parvez Rasool, Akshar Patel, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra

The first match begins on the 15th of June. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...