India to host 2021 Champions Trophy, 2023 World Cup

Enter capti
India won the World Cup in 2011
Aadya Sharma

India is all set to host the 2023 World Cup, the global cricketing event’s 13th edition, after the BCCI confirmed the host nation in its SGM, held on December 11. India will also host the upcoming Champions Trophy in 2021.

The allotment of the same was done back in June 2013 itself, with India receiving the hosting rights for the World T20 in 2016, the Champions Trophy in four years time from now, and the World Cup that will follow four years after the next event in England and Wales in 2019.

This will be the first time that the event will be held entirely in India: the nation has, on three occasions previously, hosted the World Cup partially (1987, 1996 and 2011).

As has been the case in the previous editions, the tournament is set to feature 10 teams, with two sides qualifying from the 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. The primary route for qualifying for the World Cup will be through the ICC ODI League, which will replace the ICC ODI championship, the rankings scheme currently in place.

Partial hosts for the 2011 World Cup, the Indian side went on to win the event, their second World Cup triumph in the 50-over format after the 1983 win under Kapil Dev. Led by MS Dhoni, the side defeated Sri Lanka in the finals by six wickets to win the tournament at Mumbai, becoming the first side to win the World Cup final on home soil.

The 2015 tournament that followed, saw Australia, one of the two host nations, also win the Cup at home, defeating New Zealand, the other co-hosts, at the MCG to clinch their fifth title. It was the second time the tournament was held in Australia and New Zealand, the first being in 1992.

Apart from the announcement of the World Cup venue, several other points were discussed in the meeting: the prominent ones being the Indian team's schedule from 2019 to 2023, with the team slated to play 81 games at home. The new FTP (Future Tours Program) will mainly include matches with South Africa, England, and Australia.

Edited by Aadya Sharma


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...