⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

India vs New Zealand - 2nd ODI: Stats

Rajdeep Puri
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 08:20 IST
The NZ bowlers proved to be too good for the Indian batsmen

Hardik Pandya and Umesh Yadav’s heroics went in vain as New Zealand beat India by 6 runs in the nail-biting 2nd ODI at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi to level the series 1-1 in the 5 match series. The New Zealand bowlers proved to be too good for the Indian batsmen who were bowled out for 236. Except for Anton Devcich, all the other New Zealand bowlers chipped in with wickets, including opening batsman Martin Guptill who ended up with figures of 2-6.

Kedar Jadhav top-scored for India as he scored 41 off 37 deliveries. After his dismissal, MS Dhoni tried to take India over the line but was unable to do so as he was dismissed after scoring 36. At one point it looked like the Kiwis would walk away with the match as India were struggling at 183-8, but a late surge by Pandya and Umesh led to a nail-biting finish which the Kiwis eventually won. 

Earlier in the match,  India won the toss for the 5th time in a row this entire series. As New Zealand came out to bat, they lost a wicket in the 2nd ball of the first over, but soon after, captain Kane Williamson and Tom Latham put on a 120 run for the second wicket. Unfortunately, Latham was not able to score another half-century as he was dismissed for 46. Williamson continued to take the attack to the Indian bowlers as he went on to score a magnificent century. 

At one point, it looked like New Zealand would score a really high total, but the Indian bowlers made an incredible comeback and restricted New Zealand to 242 with the loss of 9 wickets. 

Here are the statistics from the match: 

0 – No. of tosses won by New Zealand in the entire series. India have won all the 5 tosses, including the 3 Tests. 

1 – This was the first match where Latham did not score a half-century in the series

1 – First ODI won by New Zealand at the Feroz Shah Kotla. 

2 – Kane WIlliamson’s 118 is the 2nd highest score by a New Zealand batsman in India. The previous best was 120 by Nathan Astle. 


3 - Kane Willamson is the 3rd NZ Captain to score a century against India.

4 – Rohit Sharma is the 4th highest run-getter for India after 150 ODIs. Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, and Virat Kohli are ahead of him

5 – Kane Williamson became the 5th player to score 8 or more centuries for New Zealand in ODIs. 

13 – This was the first time in 13 years New Zealand won a match in India. MS Dhoni had not made his debut the last time they had won here. 

17 – Axar Patel’s highest score in ODIs. 

56.57 –  Lowest strike rate by Indian openers since 2005.

100 – No. of dismissals for wicket-keeper Luke Ronchi. 

150 – No. of ODIs played by Rohit Sharma

400 – India became the first team to lose 400 ODIs. 

2 for 6 – Martin Guptill’s best bowling figures in ODIs. 

Published 20 Oct 2016, 19:39 IST
Fetching more content...