New User posted their first comment

India vs Sri Lanka 2017, 1st test: Did Dilruwan Perera receive signals from the Sri Lankan dressing room?

Dilruwan was given a signal by the Sri lankan dressing room
Dilruwan was given a signal by the Sri Lankan dressing room
Modified 19 Nov 2017, 13:21 IST

In the first match of the three-test series between India and Sri Lanka, the hosts were halted at a meagre first-innings score of 172, in reply to which the Lankans had scored 294 runs by the end of their innings, gaining a healthy lead of 122 runs. However, one particular incident attracted a lot of attention.

In the 57th over of the Sri Lankan innings, after Mohammad Shami had trapped Dilruwan Perera in front of the wicket, the on-field umpire adjudged the Lankan LBW.

Initially, Perera was happy to walk off without reviewing the decision, but after a few steps towards the dressing room, he turned back and straight away asked for the review. Eventually, the third umpire overturned the on-field umpire's decision as the impact was outside off-stump.

The decision to review looked like a masterstroke as there was just one review left for the Lankans and eight players were already back in the hut.

However, what caught everyone's eyes in the replays is that Perera did look towards dressing room while he was walking back and after a signal, he promptly took the review.

Simon Doull, commentating on the match, was not happy with Dilruwan's behaviour as well and said that 'it was totally unethical of him'. Later it was clearer that one-two hands had gone up from the Lankan dressing room and that prompted Dilruwan to take the review.

Dilruwan and Sri Lanka were lucky that the Indian players, or the team management, did not notice the incident.

Watch the full incident here.

This incident was reminiscent of the Steve Smith 'brain-fade' moment during the second test of the India-Australia series earlier this year.

As per the ICC rules, "If the on-field umpires believe that the captain or either batsman has received direct or indirect input emanating other than from the players on the field, then they may at their discretion decline the request for a Player Review. In particular, signals from the dressing room must not be given."

It will be interesting to see if the match-referee, or the ICC, take some action against Dilruwan Perera after this incident.

Published 19 Nov 2017, 13:10 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit