New User posted their first comment

Kyle Coetzer upset by Scotland omission for World T20 qualifiers

Modified 10 Jun 2015, 01:09 IST
Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer in action during the 2015 World Cup

Kyle Coetzer has gone on a rant in reaction to not to being included in Scotland's 15-man squad for next month's World T20 qualifiers. Saying he is "hugely disappointed", Coetzer has questioned the move based on his years of service to Scottish cricket as well as current form.

Coetzer was vice-captain at this year's World Cup and was the team's leading run-scorer with an average of 42. He also is a previous captain of his country and has prior World T20 experience.

Off-spinner Majid Haq has also been left out from the squad.

Still have great deal to offer Scotland: Coetzer

"I believed I had a great deal to offer Scotland in all three formats of the game," Coetzer said.

"I am immensely proud of my overall record for Scotland, which includes being their leading run-scorer in the T20 format and for Scotland at the 2009 T20 World Cup. After the recent 50-over World Cup which was successful from a personal point of view it is upsetting I will not be able to transfer that into the shorter format of the game.

"Having played in a T20 World Cup before, overseas T20 comps and in the Northants side that won the T20 competition in 2013, I would have loved to have been able to pass on some of my experience to the exciting younger members of the squad to play a key part in the qualification, but unfortunately that is not to be.

"I look forward to hopefully being involved in future squads and good luck to those involved at the qualifiers."

The 14-team qualifying event will be staged across eight venues in Ireland and Scotland from 9-26 July. The two group winners automatically qualify for the World Twenty20 to be held in India in March - April 2016. 


The sides finishing second and third in each group will play cross-over matches with the two winners progressing. The losing sides from the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches, with the winners completing the 16-team line-up.

Scotland: Preston Mommsen (capt), Matthew Cross (vc), Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

Published 10 Jun 2015, 01:00 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit