Favorites Edit

List of Ranji Trophy records

5.68K   //    05 Oct 2017, 17:22 IST

Ranji Trophy is India's premier first-class tournament
Ranji Trophy is India's premier first-class tournament

Ranji Trophy is the premier first-class tournament in India and has been in existence since 1943. Named after former England cricketer Ranjitsinhji, an Indian who represented England even before India played their first Test match, Ranji Trophy has been serving as the perfect platform for young players to showcase their skills.

Over the last 75 years, over 5,000 cricketers have played in the tournament and only a few have managed to perform consistently. A lot of records were broken in the tournament over the years. Let us take a look at the list of all the important Ranji Trophy records.

Most titles: Mumbai (also known as Bombay) have won the tournament 41 times, the most by any team.

Most finals: With 41 titles in their kitty, Mumbai have lost the final on five occasions of their 46 appearances in the summit clash, the most by any team.

Most matches by a player: Ever since making his debut in the 1995/96 season, Madhya Pradesh captain Devendra Bundela has played 137 matches in Ranji Trophy, the most by any player.

1 / 7 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...