⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Looking back at the Man of the Series from each edition of the U-19 World Cup

Sarah Waris
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 14:55 IST

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup - India v Papua New Guinea

The U-19 World Cup sets the stage for the younger players in each cricketing nation to make an early mark on the international stage, which can then fast-forward his entry into the senior team.

Over the years, we have witnessed players like Inzamam-ul-Haq, Chris Gayle, Graeme Smith, Alastair Cook, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli amongst others rise up the ranks after their performances in the tournament were heralded and noticed.

With India winning the 12th edition of the event recently, we have a look at all the Players of the Tournament ever since the trophy was introduced in 2000.

The 1998 and the 1998 editions did not have the Man of the Series award.

#1 2000- Yuvraj Singh, India

India v Sri Lanka - ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 Final

An event that changed the dynamics of the Indian cricketing set-up, the third edition of the U-19 World Cup was held in Sri Lanka. Under the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif, the young side set foot on the Lankan shores and mesmerised one and all with their all-around skills.

Comprising of players like Venugopal Rao, Anup Dave and Ravneet Ricky, the Indian team started in right earnest, ending the group stages without incurring a loss. They faced Australia in the semi-finals and hosts Sri Lanka in the Finals, but both games hardly tested the young colts, as India won their first U-19 trophy.

Yuvraj Singh, for an all-around performance, was adjudged as the player of the tournament and soon after, both he and Kaif represented India for the better half of the new decade. 

1 / 10 NEXT
Published 12 Feb 2018, 20:38 IST
Fetching more content...