Favorites Edit

Mitchell McClenaghan to play for Sydney Thunder in BBL 2017-18

Umaima Saeed
3.33K   //    05 Oct 2017, 13:30 IST

<p src=" />
Mitchell McClenaghan picked up 19 wickets for the Mumbai Indians in IPL 10

What’s the story?

Kiwi paceman Mitchell McClenaghan is all set to feature in the Sydney Thunder squad for the Big Bash League 2017.

As per reports on Cricbuzz, McClenaghan said he was excited about playing for the Thunders, "I spent some time at the St Lucia Stars with Shane Watson and got to know his outlook on the game and hear his passion for Sydney Thunder and the organisation," he said.

"I grew up in Australia and watched a lot of Aussie cricket, and to have the opportunity to play in the Big Bash is something I'm really looking forward to. The Big Bash is a fantastic spectacle, the atmosphere is amazing and skill levels are incredible."

In case you didn’t know

The pacer relinquished his New Zealand central contract in August to play in lucrative T20 leagues around the world. He was particularly impressive in the tenth season of the IPL, where he picked up 19 wickets for eventual champions Mumbai Indians.

The 31-year-old also played in the recent Caribbean Premier League and is also set to feature for the Durban Qalandars in the T20 Global League in South Africa.

The heart of the matter

The Big Bash League was established in 2011 by Cricket Australia and today it enjoys the reputation of being one of the most entertaining T20 leagues in the world. The tournament features eight city-based franchises and is played in the summer months of December and January. 

Sydney Thunders, who won the title in 2015, already boasts of a strong bowling attack in Pat Cummins, Gurinder Sandhu, Clint McKay, Shane Watson and Fawad Ahmed. McClenaghan’s addition will further strengthen their bowling department.

The current Sydney Thunder squad has Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Clint McKay, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Shane Watson and Mitchell McClenaghan.

What’s next?

The 2017 edition of the T20 extravaganza begins on December 19, with the Sydney Thunders facing off Sydney Sixers in Sydney.


A total of 43 games will be played including the final which is scheduled to be played on February 4.

Author’s Take

With vast experience of playing domestic and international T20 cricket, McClenaghan can be the Thunder’s frontline and go-to fast bowler this season, and help them win a second BBL title.